Lifehack logo

Writing tips for starters or struggles

The story is there, I'll help you get it out

By Samantha ParrishPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
There are wonders with writing , you’ll find your path.

I've been asked how I am able to stay focused on writing or get my central ideas for the plot together when I wrote my first book. Most writers I know can just get right into it and keep going. To quote one writer I know he says, "Don't think, just write" which is true. In the present time you have the idea, it can be edited or expanded later on. But if there is a present idea that needs to have a balanced outline. This is the method I created and it has worked for me. I don't know if all of my tips can work to your progress, but one or two may pertain.

Have a question section

Your story will have a lot of questions to answer but you'll have to know what those questions are as you expand your story and the trials and tribulations of your characters. If you look at a show and there are various plot holes you notice, you can be able to keep track of your story to answer what new characters come in or to continue something that came up for an origin.

Have a section for lines that the characters will say for a scene

This was the first part I did when I was comprising my first set of stories. The dialogue was the first that came to mind and I didn't want to forget about those moment to include as a single piece or to incorporate for a conversation or in the middle of a chapter insert.

Have a specific writing playlist

Most creators have to rely up on music for getting that inadvertent discovery for the scene that has stumped them. Take my case for instance, "Learning To Fly" by Pink Floyd was the song I have to credit for being the surprising inspiration to my next to last chapter for my book, Inglorious Ink. If there is a certain mood you are trying to get into for your book, I'd recommend having a writing playlist of songs that have a interesting lyrical content to help you stay focused or get certain key words. For me, I have a playlist for each of my characters to help me get in that exact mood of songs that they would listen to. I’ve even had playlists I’ve created for a specific chapter if I need a eerie ambiance or invigorating vibe for to get a rise out of me for a plot. Some people prefer silence and that’s ok, there’s a writer I talked to recently that has to go to restaurants where there is a crowd of people that has the vibe she wants to be around to get inspired. Any creator has their own method to madness when it comes to getting inspired. Music just happens to be my mojo to getting my routine.

Invest in writing interactive books

It sounds weird but these books have helped me being my process when I started getting a routine. Before I even begin writing my book, there is a collection of interactive books like, "3000 questions about me", "300 questions about me", etc. Anything that has a specific question to answer to get your mind contextually ready after having inquisitive questions to answer. So in a way, those writing warm ups we had back in school does help after all.

Have a box of items that your character would have

I started keeping a box of items that pertain to my character, it does help out even if seems like a method acting approach to it. I'll use myself for an example, my book Inglorious Ink, is about tattoo artists, so I comprised a box of items of glasses, tattoo sleeves, temporary tattoos, old lighters, fake cigarettes, and certain clothing that my characters would wear. It’s fun to embody the characters by the mannerisms of an item, wearing something they would wear. It does have a gleeful feeling to buy something you wouldn’t normally buy and know it’s for the sake of the story.

Talk it out-loud

Again, it seems like a method acting approach but you would be surprised how many creators take this approach to see how a character has to go. I have a character in my book that has this voice I can only describe as a "sketchy Robert Wagner" it worked and I was able to embody this character to expand mannerisms and dialogue. It does help make sense of a character to create by talking it out to act as them in order to bring it to life.

list
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Parrish

What's something interesting you always wanted to know?

Instagram: parrishpassages

tiktok: themysticalspacewitch

My book Inglorious Ink is now available on Amazon!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.