Lifehack logo

Why You Should Try Calendar Journaling On Your Mobile

A new approach to journaling using the calendar app on your mobile phone

By René JungePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Picture by geralt on Pixabay

The innitial idea

A year ago, I had an idea when I looked through the calendar on my cell phone.

I thought it might be exciting to keep a diary with the calendar. But I would not make my entries for the current date, but for the same time of the following year.

After that, I didn't think about it for a year.

In fact, a year ago that day I made such a calendar entry in the future. After that, I never thought about it again. I was thinking When I see this entry today in a year, I'll know if it was a good idea or just nonsense.

When I looked at my cell phone this morning, the first thing that popped up was the reminder for this forgotten entry. I was curious about what I had written down at that time and opened the note.

It was incredibly exciting and inspiring to read what I wrote a year ago today.

- I was just writing the ninth part of my book series, which now has thirteen parts.

- The outside temperature was 33 degrees Celsius. It's only 12 degrees today.

- The day on which I would hand over the resignation to my employer was still one month in the future.

- On that day I read the article Your Choices Today Compound for Life by Stephen Guise.

- On that day, my then-current new release was 119th in the Amazon Kindle Charts.

I couldn't have remembered any of that today. The method passed the test for me. As of today, I'll be working with it regularly.

The great advantage of calendar journaling compared to an ordinary diary

I have tried many times to keep a diary and have always been unsuccessful. Why would it be any different this time? What makes this method so different from an ordinary diary that I think I can keep it up?

One does not move away from one's memories but moves towards them.

I have to flip back in a diary to find my memories. But when I make my entries in the future, I move towards it all year long. The reminder is delivered directly from the calendar in the morning after getting up.

In this way, my memories suddenly belong to the daily news. Instead of looking for my diary entries, they find me all by themselves.

Every day a new, surprising gift emerges that I gave to my present self a year ago. It's like opening a time capsule every day.

More than pure nostalgia

Reading a note from the calendar journal is much more than just indulging in memories. You can see right away how far you've come in this year. The book I just wrote is now finished and has earned me a lot of money. The article I have read has shaken me awake and influenced many of my decisions, which still have a positive effect on my life today.

Such memories motivate me, and they teach me that what I do or don't do every day really counts.

Try it yourself today

It's simple: sit down tonight, when most of the day is over, and open the calendar on your phone.

Then scroll one year forward and create a new entry on that day. Write down what happened today, the current status of one of your projects, what the weather is like and anything else you find worth mentioning.

Then save the entry and forget it. Forget this article, too. You don't need it anymore.

If then today in a year suddenly this note appears in your calendar, then you will know whether this method enriches your life. In that case, stick with it. I'll do it.

how to
Like

About the Creator

René Junge

Thriller-author from Hamburg, Germany. Sold over 200.000 E-Books. get informed about new articles: http://bit.ly/ReneJunge

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.