Lifehack logo

Why I Love To Crochet

I am Glad Crocheting Is My Talent

By Darla M SeelyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Why I Love To Crochet

I have been crocheting since I was a teenager. It is a lot of work as well as fun at times. I had a neighbor that taught me how to crochet. Her name is Donna Kendall. She helped me crochet a ripple yellow and green afghan. I entered it in the Franklin County fair in Preston, Idaho and received a blue ribbon on it. I have crocheted mostly baby afghans, but I have crocheted other things too. I used to belong to a group called Fridgie Hiders. I would crochet some things to put on the fridge, and I would exchange them with a few ladies. This was a lot of fun. Each month I would anxiously wait to see the cute fridgies the ladies would send me. I crocheted myself a tan purse, a white winter hat. I made a gray winter hat for my husband. I made red/green potholders, a turkey, big pumpkin, small pumpkin, a candle decoration, a bunny, an Easter bunny to put on the doorknob inside and outside the door, a Santa to put on the doorknob inside and outside the door, a Christmas decoration to put on the door that has a bell and a felt bow on it. I have made blankets for myself and scarves for others. Crocheting gifts for others has been very expensive counting the yarn that I bought, the hooks, and the needles. I have spent countless hours and made so many stitches. Crocheting makes my wrist and fingers tired and ache. Many times I had to FROG the afghans, rip rip it out, and start over again. That is why it is called frogging. There is a lot of heartache and frustration when I do this. Inner peace comes from finishing a crochet project. I see how beautiful the finished afghan is. I have crocheted an afghan for most of my nieces and nephews, my step-grandchildren, and my step-great-grandchildren. I have made booties for my niece, Karissa's two sons, Easton and Kruze. Easton's were too big for him. Kruze's were a little big, but he was able to wear his. I made booties for Karissa when she was little, but they were too big. It was frustrating when the booties I made were too big. I made booties for my step-great-grandson, Dalton, and my step-great-granddaughter, Kazley. I made booties for friends' babies. I made two pair of booties for the Wanner Reunion auction a couple of years ago, but we weren't able to go, and a cousin was able to use them for her baby son. I made a big light blue blanket for my youngest, step-daughter, Michelle, and her husband, Max after they got married. I crocheted an afghan for one of my friend, Amy's sons when he was a baby. I crocheted a light blue and white cat blanket. I made a green and white baby afghan for a friend's baby a couple of years ago. We go to church together. Although some stitches on a row were off, the afghan was gorgeous nonetheless. I felt bad that those stitches were wrong. I told her, but she loved it, and her son that I made the afghan for loved it. I am a perfectionist. That is part of the reason I tear afghans down and start over. Some of the time I should let a few rows go. I could have saved some money and frustration that way.

I have used many sizes of hooks too. The biggest I have used is size N. The hardest part of crocheting for me is when I use more than one color which I do most of the time. I know I am supposed to weave in the ends, but I like to use a needle to tie a knot with the color I just finished with and the next color I used. Even when I tie a knot with a color of yarn, the crocheting comes out, and I have to redo the rows where I had finished off a color.

I made a multi-color ripple afghan I believe in 1993 and entered it in the state fair in Salt Lake City, Utah. I didn't weave in any ends. I tied knots whenever I changed colors, and I got docked for it. I also tied knots throughout the blanket I made my step-daughter, Michelle, and her husband, Max.

One time I was crocheting an afghan and listening to Michael W. Smith songs I believe. I felt the spirit of my Heavenly very strongly when I was listening to the music. Sometimes I crochet better when I listen to music. Many times I have stayed up all night crocheting and got very tired doing so.

When do I really feel inner peace? I feel it after a crocheted project is done. I feel a great accomplishment when I finish an afghan. When the person I make it for says "thank you, it is beautiful", it makes me feel really good and peaceful. I feel peace right now as I am writing about this. When I finish crocheting an afghan, it makes all my heartache and frustrating worthwhile. Crocheting a gift for others as well as any gift for others is a labor of love. Life is full of struggles and frustration. That is the way our Heavenly Father intended it to be. I am so grateful that he has blessed me with this talent. I know many people I have given afghans and booties to are grateful I have this talent too.

crafts
1

About the Creator

Darla M Seely

I love to write poems, crochet, take photos, and make scrapbooks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.