Lifehack logo

Tips for Growing Sorrel

A continuation from "Growing Your Own Food"

By Michelle PaivaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Large Leaf Sorrel

Continuing on with my series of “Growing Your Own Food”, I would like to discuss another one of the eleven plants I discussed in the article and give you my reasons why it is a great pick as well as some tips and pointers that will help you get the most abundant harvest. If you have not previously read my other articles I would love it if you would and share along any tips you have that I may have missed or any tips you learn along the way that may help others. It may also be helpful to follow along if you first read “Growing Your Own Food” and “Small Space Garden”.

Sorrel is a great option when starting off and growing your own food. It grows in fairly quick and aside from being quite versatile it is packed with health benefits. Sorrel has a slight citrus flavor to it, a combination of lettuce and citrus. Its flavor gives a nice taste to salads when you want to cut back on using so much dressing but still need that “pop” in flavor to your salad. I also learned it is great for juicing, especially the larger leaf varieties. Stir fry it in place of spinach, add it to broths, use it on sandwiches or tacos, tea and juicing are all some of the ways I have used sorrel. It is full of benefits as well.

Sorrel is full of fiber which helps keep you full longer so that makes it a great add for juicing for weight loss. It is also high in vitamins such a B and C and minerals like zinc making it a great immunity booster. It has also been known to stabilize blood sugar levels, lower blood sugar and decrease inflammation, so definitely a great plant to keep around. It grows well both indoors and outdoors and does great in pots and in the Aerogarden, so you could potentially grow it all year round.

I have noticed that sorrel does best when the soil is moist and when it has a good source of light. Sorrel does not do well if it is under-watered and will wither quickly so you will want to keep a good eye on it to maximize your harvest. A good potting soil is a must too since sorrel is a green and greens do best when fed well, especially a good amount of nitrogen to encourage more growth. Other than that, it really does not need a whole lot of attention which makes it great to grow in a small space, outdoors, indoors in ground, in a pot or in a large space. It is a low maintenance plant that packs a whole lot of benefits. I live in 9b so I am able to grow it year round, but I grow it both indoors as well as outdoors and have never noticed one yielding a largest harvest than the other. If you have never tried sorrel before it is worth trying and I would highly recommend buying some seeds and in a few weeks you will have a few leaves of your own to try!

As always, thank you for taking this time to read my article. If you have any questions I would be more than happy to answer any of them! If you want to reach out to me on Instagram or Twitter I can be found at handle- @Garden4Solace. I will also be sharing some tips and photos periodically so please head on over there and give me a follow and say hello! I am by no means a garden pro, so I would love it if you would share your suggestions with me as well! If you are reading this article and enjoyed it, consider leaving a tip to help support my urban farm! Wishing you a happy, healthy and wonderfully abundant gardening year.

garden
1

About the Creator

Michelle Paiva

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.