Lifehack logo

Tik Tok Made Me Buy it

A few things I've bought because of tik tok

By Shannon AndersonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Tik Tok Made Me Buy it
Photo by Hello I'm Nik 🪴 on Unsplash

At this point in life, most of us know the way social media has targeted advertisements towards things we search for or talk about. (creepy right?) This could be things from apps to products. We have all seen the miracle-working cream or body-changing leggings. When I tell you how many times a day I see ads for things I want, that would be too many times. Although I don't always cave, there are a few products that I have just had to have and it is because of these tik toks where people review things they have bought on Amazon. Once you watch and like one of these videos, your algorithm goes crazy with them. Most of these things, I'll think to myself, "Oh, that is cool," but I would never buy it.

One of the many things I gave in on was an electric lighter. I am absolutely obsessed with candles and go through them and lighters like there is no tomorrow, especially in the wintertime. When I saw this on one of the tik tok "Amazon must-haves" I thought this would be a perfect gift to give to my mom for Christmas as she is quite similar with her obsession with candles. My opinion of the product is that is totally worth the buy. It's just under CAD $20 and is so much better for the environment than the normal lighter. This is because it is rechargeable. I honestly think this is a lighter everyone should have because you'll never have to buy another again. It has a USB cable which is pretty universal for everyone to have whether you charge it in your laptop or your charger from your phone. Overall, I would 10/10 recommend to anyone to buy this product as it will save you financially in the future from buying all those lighters that are not easily disposable.

The next product I would recommend that I saw on a Tik Tok video was the fluffy bow headbands. In the past six months, I have really gotten into skincare (another thing tik tok made me do) and noticed how even just wearing a normal headband, my hair would still fall in my face and the products would get into it. I saw these and I thought they would be perfect for my new obsession with skincare. As a result, I asked for them for Christmas and did get them. I have been using them since then and absolutely adore them. I use them daily for my morning and night routines and I have not had it be a problem since. The ones I asked for, are not the best in quality but I got 7 and none of them have ripped or been ruined so I think the quality is good enough. There are options to just buy one of the headbands for the same price as these 7 and those are better quality. For me, I wanted the variety of colours and patterns since I use them every day so that's why I went with quantity over quality. So depending on the person I would rank this one a 7/10 because I really like them and they serve their purpose but the quality just isn't the best so it might not be for everyone.

I haven't given in to the constant advertisement we see every day in our lives as much as the next girl but I have a couple of times. It is hard to but somehow I've managed to resist the temptation pretty well so far. The two things that I have gotten from it though have made it really worth it to the point that I will definitely be doing it again.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.