Lifehack logo

This one simple rule will help you STAY clutter free

I promise.

By Harper D.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
This one simple rule will help you STAY clutter free
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

Put the mop down, and back away slowly.

If you’ve read my previous article on this topic, you already know that the only rule to help you declutter is to keep what gives you joy. Don’t focus on what to throw away, or a bunch of steps and guidelines, but on ultimately creating a space that you love by only filling it with what brings you joy.

Remember: surrounding yourself with only things that bring you joy isn’t a cleaning method. Though, of course, your space may look cleaner as you begin removing items from your life. The purpose of this method is to facilitate how you want to live your life moving forward. If you’re a bit like me, mess happens. I can’t get away from it, nor do I try to. Give me the choice to wash the dishes today or tomorrow, and I’m probably going with next Wednesday. Your method of cleaning your space is unique to you, and only you can set your own rules to do so. I’m just here to make it a tad bit easier.

Great, now that you have a space full of things that spark joy, how do you keep it that way?

One of my ongoing problems when I actually found the mental energy to attempt to declutter, was ultimately giving up because I didn’t know where to put everything. I mean, how exactly do you organize a collection of nunchucks? Outside of places that were already kind of designated areas in the home, so to speak, I was finding myself getting overwhelmed because my millions of items didn’t have a place to go. Shoes often piled around the front door, and I could only ever find one of my earrings. Not to mention, I seriously considered contacting the FBI for help each morning when I couldn’t locate my car keys.

Simply put, organization rules and steps didn’t help me because I already knew what to do. I needed a way how to actually do it without the piles of stuff I didn’t care that much about blocking my way. Giving all of my possessions that brought me joy a proper place ensured it all ended up where it was supposed to. Not only that, but I found that because I truly enjoyed those items, I was much less likely to procrastinate in putting them back where they belonged. That, my friends, is the key to keeping your space clutter free: making sure everything has a home to then facilitate your method of cleaning.

Let’s review:

1.) Declutter by only keeping what brings you joy.

2.) Stay that way by ensuring the remaining things have a dedicated spot.

If this means you’ve designated the refrigerator for your shoes, keep them out of the closet. If you want to keep your ketchup in the medicine cabinet, don’t put it in the pantry. Simple, right? Don’t laugh, I keep my vacuum in the closet in my bedroom because it’s the best spot for it in my small living space.

This method of decluttering (and, staying that way) opens the door to how you’ll then choose to keep your space clean (or not!). When we approach it this way, as more so a philosophy, it can then be more easily applied to other facets of our lives. Decluttering your finances? Try cutting out which streaming services you barely use and are nothing more than a $15 a month burden you’ve been overlooking. Email is in shambles? Finally unsubscribe to everything you don’t even read and create dedicated folders for what you decide to keep for later. Boyfriend getting on your nerves...?

You get my drift.

Now, winter’s over, on to find a place for those earmuffs!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Harper D.

I like forming strings of letters. 💥

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.