Lifehack logo

The Human Spider Cosplay DIY

Step-by-step instructions on making this cosplay amazing.

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
Tobey Maguire as The Human Spider.

I debuted this cosplay a few days before Halloween and received positive feedback on social media. If you're looking for a simple cosplay to make, you might want to consider becoming The Human Spider. This character, played by Tobey Maguire in the 2002 film, Spider-Man, is a cosplay that I have wanted to do for quite some time. This was my first cosplay project in over a year and was nervous of working on my shirt. However, I was up for the challenge and excited to do it. In this article, I'll tell everyone the items you'll need to make this cosplay spectacular and look amazing at any convention. I'll have three separate collages below to guide you in making this cosplay stand out.

Here are the following items you'll need to make The Human Spider shirt:

  • Glue sticks
  • Black spray print
  • Masking tape (or black duck tape)
  • A pen of any color
  • Black Sharpies
  • Large poster board
  • Cardboard (optional)
  • Scissors
  • A print out of a Spider-Man logo
  • A red short sleeve t-shirt with no writing on it

Trace over the Spider-Man logo then outline the spider with a black Sharpie. Once it's been cut out, color it in.

Using the glue stick, glue lightly on the back of the spider and place it on the red t-shirt. Cut thin strips of masking tape or duck tape to make a spider web. It's time consuming to do this step, but it will be worth it. Before you use the black spray paint, place a huge piece of cardboard or poster board under the shirt. Go ahead and spray all over the spider web and spider. If you don't like the smell of spray paint, you can always wear a mask. Don't be afraid to get messy. Working on a cosplay project is all about having fun doing it. Don't throw away your spider cutout yet, because you're going to need it for the final steps. In the meantime, let's proceed to the next steps.

Carefully peel off the strips of tape before peeling off the spider. The spider and web should look like what I have in the first picture of this collage. Let the shirt dry for a few minutes and then turn it over, because you're going do the back of it. Grab your spider cutout, as I stated earlier, and trace it on the poster board. Slowly cut it out and as shown in the third picture of this collage, it should look like this. Use the black spray paint and spray over the spider. Now that you're done with that, hang it up and let the pain dry for at least 30 minutes before wearing it.

Cosplay vs. character.

Now that your shirt has dried from the black spray paint, you will need a few more things to officially become The Human Spider. Here's what you'll need:

  • Red balaclava
  • Red long sleeve shirt
  • Red batting gloves
  • Red sneakers or shoes
  • Blue sweatpants

You are now suited up as The Human Spider. It took me a few hours to put together this cosplayer. I had to stay up until four in the morning to customize this shirt. On Halloween, I went as this character for a party that was happening at work and again later on that day at my local arcade. Like I said, this project was the first one I've worked on in over a year. I love working on these projects, because I can freely express myself and be as creative as I want. I've posted other DIY's on here. If you would like to check them out, feel free to go to these sites down below:

As far as The Human Spider DIY, you'll enjoy doing this and cosplaying as him in true fashion at conventions, photoshoots, or wherever you're at. I'm currently planning a huge cosplay for 2019. It'll be amazing and once it's complete, you'll be among the first ones to see it. If you love my articles, feel free to send me a small one-off tip that's located towards the end of every article. Your support is much appreciated and thanks for visiting my page.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.