Lifehack logo

Tea Parties

History and My Tea Parties

By Lisa BriskeyPublished 18 days ago 2 min read
1

Origin of the Afternoon Tea Party

The afternoon tea party tradition originated in the early 1840s by the Duchess of Bedford, Anna Maria Russell, who happens to be a long-time friend of Queen Victoria. The reason for this tradition was that Anna would get a sick feeling during the long gap between meal times. So she would have tea and light treats sent to her sitting room. Eventually, she would invite her friends to partake with her and soon other high society hostesses would follow her tradition of hosting tea parties. It was a great thing to have Queen Victoria come to one of your tea parties. Of course, there have been rumors of ladies having tea further back than 1840 but Anna is credited to having started the afternoon tea party.

Who doesn't love tea parties? I have always been fascinated by them since I was a little girl whose grandmother taught her the love of a good cup of tea. Then of course watching movies that had tea parties like Titanic didn't help either. So when I got older, I bought my first English Rose tea set online for about 35.00. It doesn't seem like a lot of money but at the age of 18, it was. I was so happy to get it in the mail in one piece and as beautiful as the picture. I have had that set for 21 years. The tea set has been with me from Maine to Texas and now Washington. The only thing wrong with it was the broken sugar bowl, a chipped plate, and a broken of handle on one of the cups. Still love it.

My Tea Party in Maine

The three pictures featured in this article are from a tea party that I hosted at my parent's home in Maine. I have so much fun doing tea parties. For the table setting, I used a linen tablecloth and napkins (I usually use linen but my mom didn't have any) with fancy paper plates (again, I usually use different ones but it still worked). My mother's tea set didn't have enough cups with matching saucers so we had to use other fancy tea cups. Placed in the middle of the table on a tray, I put the teapot filled with hot water, and sugar in a fancy sugar bowl with honey. Since there were many of us, I put the coffee, tea infusions, and plenty of tea on a different counter. I had tea leaves tea bags and 10 different teas to choose from. Then on another counter is the food which includes vanilla and chocolate sugar wafers; lady fingers; cookies filled with raspberry jam; biscotti; cookies; bread and pirouette cookies. Everyone loved the tea, the food, the setup, and the company.

This is another one of my tea party setups. This tea party was for two friends and me when I was living in Texas. I love doing tea parties anywhere I am. This was a Valentine's Day Tea Party. My friends loved the party.

I am always trying to find ways to make my tea parties fun and enjoyable not just for me but for my guest. Sometimes I make my own food and sometimes I buy from the store. Tea parties are great to host.

food
1

About the Creator

Lisa Briskey

I love to write, crochet, and sew. I am a grandmother of a two-year-old granddaughter.

Follow me on Medium: https://medium.com/@lisabriskey5

And support me on my Ko-fi: https://ko-fi.com/lisaj or https://ko-fi.com/lisabriskey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.