Lifehack logo

My Most Beloved Thrift Finds

All the treasures I've found and adored at charity shops

By Stephi DurandPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
A small teaser for the post!

If there's one thing I love, it's shopping at charity shops.

Here in the UK, we don't have 'thrift stores'. Instead, we have charity shops, which are basically the exact same thing just renamed. Plus wherever you shop, that money spent goes towards the charity you spent it in (Cancer Research, Mind, RSPCA, etc)

When it comes to shopping, I was blessed with the exact same skill my Auntie has. Finding great deals on clothing or items I like.

Sometimes timing plays a huge part, being in the right store at the right time to find that amazing thing. Sometimes it's pure luck. Either way, I have this skill and boy have I used it well over the years!

Usually, when I go thrift shopping, I tend to get clothes. Preferring cheaper prices and the ability to give more life to clothing even if they are a little worn. I've bought the occasional items over time, but the majority that I share today will be clothing.

These are pieces that I have loved so dearly, and have been so happy to obtain and wear that I try to use them as often as possible.

There is also one item that I plan to share in this post today that is my charity find pride and joy. It's the best thing I've ever spent my money on and it was a complete bargain. I cannot wait to show you below!

The Fabric Scrap

I love being creative, and I've been wanting to get back into and properly learn how to sew for quite a while now. I can do the basic stitch, but I wanted to make things — mainly clothes.

My Personal Instagram: @stevie_dd

Because my fabric budget is incredibly low (price and priority) I often search the web for decent sized scrap fabrics that aren't a crazy price, and recently, I found one.

This is my most recent second-hand purchase, costing me £6. The fabric was enough to make this tank top (pictured above) which I cloned from one of my favourites (it ended up a little snug on me, but I'm hoping to lose weight so hey-ho!) and there's plenty left to try and make things like scrunchies, or perhaps even a halter top!

The Cute Skull Shirt

If there's something you should know about me, it's my love for Halloween and anything related to it (Including Samhain) I remember when I saw this shirt, I thought it was far too adorable to leave. I didn't care what size it was (it happened to be a few sizes bigger than what I usually bought, but it suited me so well) I just knew that I had to have it.

Skull Shirt

It's a go-to summer shirt for me, keeping me cool and cute at the same time!

The Asylum Industries Jacket

Whenever I buy jackets, I always favour a large over a medium. I much prefer the baggier, cosier feel it brings. So when I saw an Asylum Industries Jacket, looking like it was in insanely good condition, at a men's large and only for £2.50? There was no way in hell I was leaving this thing in the store.

Asylum Industries Jacket

For those of you who don't know, these jackets would usually cost you around £40. That's right, £40! I saved myself a whole £37.50 on this baby and I lived in it!

These days, as it's gotten older and more worn, it's more of a project jacket. If I'm out in the garden or doing something which could get messy, I'm always willing to put it back on and get creating. I think my family are going to have to fight me when it comes to getting rid of it!

The Breadmaker

AKA my pride and joy. This little beauty cost me £4 and my local Mind Furniture store.

Morphy Richards Bread Maker

When I first saw it, I thought it was just a prooving oven; it wasn't until I got home and had a proper look that I realised it was an actual bread maker.

It's an older model, it doesn't shout at me at a certain point when nuts and seeds can be added, and it did take some time to find a manual online, but it works like a charm! I've yet to utilise the potential it has, only making regular small loaves so far.

Using a simple recipe and leaving it be for 2 hours 45 minutes, my home greets me with the smell of freshly baked bread. It is truly divine.

Freshly Made Bread

Plus, I love to bake (you can see my baking and gardening journey over on Instagram!) so if I wanted to make some brownies and bake bread, I can do both and only need to focus on one!

This is by far my favourite second-hand purchase. Not only was it an absolute bargain, saving me at least £30-£40 minimum, but you bet it's an item I am taking with me into adulthood until it no longer works!

Thrifting, or simply buying second hand is one of my most favourite ways to shop. This year I've given myself the challenge of only buying clothes that are pre-owned. (This does exclude socks and underwear) Now that stores are opening up again, I can't wait to make a trip to my local shops and see what other treasures are waiting to be found.

I hope this has inspired you to shop second-hand more often. There truly are some incredible things out there that have plenty of life left in them! You just need to go and have a look!

If you enjoyed this story, please don't forget to:

•Leave a like,

•Share it,

•Give me a tip!

clothing
1

About the Creator

Stephi Durand

Indie Author | Content Creator

'Look Up' is available to purchase at all online book retailers in Paperback and eBook.

Writing here, writing there, writing everywhere...

Instagram: @stevie_dd

Twitter: @StephiDurand

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.