Lifehack logo

My Dream Home

I will have the opportunity to start building my dream home in a few months. This is what I have so far.

By Justine RuffPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
Like
Family is My True Home: Photo by Tatiana Syrikova on Pexels.com

Over time the vision of my dream home has changed. I remember playing the game M.A.S.H. which stood for Mansion. Apartment. Shack. House. I remember playing it as young as 9 years old. I always wanted the mansion, because the biggest and most luxurious is obviously the best. As I grew older and started having to make the adult decision on where to live, I learned that bigger doesn't always mean better.

It's a right of passage as an American child.

Once it came time for me to actually sit down and buy a house, I was looking for my "dream house" and my forever home. That was six years ago when I was 26 years old, right before I purchased my current home. It was everything I wanted at the time. The home of my dreams six years ago is no longer the home of my dreams. I have to move on because life has thrown changes and curves and what I currently envision as my dream home is exactly what I am going to be seeking next.

My current home was built in 1968. The first time I saw it, I was in love. It's a short drive down an old gravel road, take a left at the curve, and there is my home. When pulling in you'll notice phenomenal concrete work. I envisioned family gatherings, kids riding bikes, and a plenty of room to relax and spread out. I was looking for a property with a little bit of land and I have an acre where my house sits. What is unique and dream worthy is that there is an additional half acre parcel that is included on the deed. As it sits right now it is valued at just over $50,000. I won the lottery without having to play it, and I get to put that towards my new dream.

My current home, soon to be one the market!

The home itself had a few updates here and there between owners over the years but it was still very much a 1960's home. Little by little I chipped away at it to create my dream. I started with the kitchen and as I was working my way into the living room, my family was hit with a circumstance that requires us to move back to my glorious home state of Colorado. My dream was to raise my children in one home in the beautiful Pacific Northwest, but that's life and dreams change.

Realizing that this change was inevitable, my husband and I saw it as an opportunity to get out from under this house that was proving difficult and expensive to repair. This is our opportunity to start over fresh, and debt free so we are taking it. I am doing the last finishing touches right now; it has taken us nine months to get it to where we can get the biggest profit. To have the opportunity to be flexible and to build a true dream home is something that I didn't think could happen.

It has been a lot of work on my former dream home- one step closer.

My dream home consists of first and foremost my family, because they are my true home. They are my safe place and I want that to blend into what we are all looking for in our physical home. There are many avenues that could make my dream come true, but if I had to start from scratch my first step would be to find a property with land.

Since I am moving to Colorado, I want a property close to or into the mountains with a body of water either on or near. My current home has a creek that runs through the property and because of that I know I want to be near water. Let’s say 50 acres, because that is a large amount of land to have the freedom to do or build whatever we wanted. Once my beautiful chunk of land with aspens and pines scattered all about and breathtaking views at every angle is purchased, then starts the house itself.

I want a cozy home. My current house is just over two-thousand square feet so I do know I don’t want anything bigger than that. I want enough room for not only my husband and myself but also for my two children, four dogs, and awesome black cat. The house will be two levels, with the lower level being a daylight basement with access to the back of the property.

After pulling into the extravagant driveway you will see the house right up front with a magnificent lawn and/or garden in the front yard. To the side of the house will be a big shop with an apartment for long term guests. The road to the home will likely be close to a mile long. I want to have beautiful cherry blossoms or depending on where we live a variety of fruit trees from the start of the road all the way to the driveway.

Plenty of room for family and friends.

The color of the home is more or less irrelevant, however I do like greys, whites, blues and greens. I also love traditional brick homes. I would like a vibrant or bold colored front door that adds to both the character of the property and to my family as well. A robin egg shell, or possibly a bold denim. Regardless, the breathtaking siding will be met with a large, protective metal roof. I love the sound of rain on a metal roof and also protection from the elements.

Once you walk in through the front door you will see gorgeous high ceilings with a classic, farmhouse style chandelier with bright Edison bulbs. There will be a cute little half bath just before you enter the kitchen. The kitchen will showcase a beautiful white quartz or black granite oversized island with cabinets and breakfast bar built in one. Imagine stainless steel appliances, a sharp, modern white and gray backsplash with coordinating gray cabinets. Keeping with the farmhouse look I would mix traditional light fixtures with modern ones that wow.

Clean, crisp and where modern meets farmhouse.

The living room will consist of a comfy sectional where all of my friends and family could get together to watch the Broncos play on the biggest screen TV, we could put in. On either side of the sectional I imagine recliners where my dad can take a nap during halftime, and both a wood burning and electric fireplace. I will tie everything together with earth tone rugs and décor. I will absolutely encourage western themes as well because horses and a small farm are a part of the dream as well.

Going through the living room to the west side of the home will be the master suite. I love funky home designs so I want to incorporate something that is personal. I think bedrooms should be dark and comfortable, purples, blacks, grays, whites, blues- there are many choices! The master room would blend in with the master bath, a half wall separating the two. The bedroom would have bay windows, facing either the forest or the water, whichever sits closest to the property. The bed would sit in front so that I can fall asleep and wake to a beautiful, natural view.

This view would do just fine.

The master bath will have a free-standing tub, possibly a claw foot tub with a floor mounted tub filler. A walk-in shower will sit right next to it, with steam sprayers and even a sauna that exposes itself to the bathtub. The toilet will sit in the corner facing a beautiful double sink vanity with a gorgeous smart no fog mirror that lights up in the back. I want to have a white or gray floor tile and a geometric wall tile. I want a fireplace on the wall so that it is exposed to the entire room and ties it all together, making those extra snowy nights warm and cozy.

I have been sketching dream bathrooms.

As far as the daylight basement, I will create that as a living space for my children right now that could eventually or potentially be turned into a second living quarters. I will need to put in three bedrooms, an office, a bathroom, utility/laundry room and a recreational/TV room. My children are six and three years old right now so I would continue to design the rooms around their needs and have a separate guest room for the many guests I plan on having.

The downstairs bathroom would be something fun and themed like under the sea or dinosaurs (rawr).

This could be fun.

The flooring througout my home will be a beautiful, chocolate hardwood floor throughout, with unique tile in the kitchen, bathrooms, and utility room and carpet in the bedrooms. A giant Trex brand deck will surround the entire home, with a hot tub and an awning for extra hot or wet days. Attached to the house underneath the deck will be an entrance to an at least one thousand square foot all-year round greenhouse that grows everything from vine plants like tomatoes to tropical pineapple trees.

Dream Trex deck right here.

On the other side of the home will sit a garden at least an acre large where I will grow any and every vegetable I can year-round.

An indoor swimming pool would sit on the back of the property, near a horse corral and stables. My daughter wants a white horse with brown spots and she insists on naming her Cinnamon Bun. I am not as particular. Beyond that would be land for chickens, alpacas, pigs, turkeys, cows and any other animal that will fit in on my farm.

This is how I picture spending time with my dream horse

I am getting closer every day to achieving my realistic dream home, and the experience I have had as a homeowner with a former dream has helped me shape this new vision into one I can be excited about.

A home is honestly what you make it, and in terms of the M.A.S.H. game, a shack would be just fine if I had the people I love right next to me. Home can be what you make it but dreams should exist because we should always shoot for the dreams that m ake us happy and whole.

house
Like

About the Creator

Justine Ruff

Justine Ruff lives in Southern Colorado with her one husband, two children, four dogs, and a meow.

Justine’s first novel, Take My Whole Life Too, was met with many rave reviews and praise. .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.