Lifehack logo

Music and Breathing

Tips to Help Calm Down

By Victoria BlitzPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Music and Breathing
Photo by Firmbee.com on Unsplash

There are multiple ways to relieve stress and anxiety. Some people prefer to go for a run or exercise at the gym. Others like to sequester themselves in nature and enjoy the sights, smells and sounds that the Earth provides. If it can be afforded, luxuries such as massages or trips to the salon can make you feel renewed.

Unfortunately, not everyone has the time or money to enjoy these activities. The following tips can help calm the mind and relax the body.

By Le Minh Phuong on Unsplash

Different Breathing Techniques

While breathing is an unconscious thought, conscious breathing is something we can control. Different patterns of breathing can have pleaseing effects on different aspects of the body.

‘Body Breath

With repetitive motion or increase physical labor our bodies become stresses and muscles/ joints become uncomfortable. We become used to the pain and see it as a sign of getting older. The ‘Body Breath’ allows for the release stress and helps the body relax.

  • Take a large, deep breath. Inhale as much air as possible. Once done, take a sip of extra air on top of that. You will feel like you’re about to burst. When exhaling, release the air as a large sigh.

‘Box Breath’

The mind is a complicated muscle as proven by scientists. We are able to perform physical motions while our minds are able to wonder with our thoughts. When feeling overwhelmed, anxiety and stress can cause headaches. To relax the mind:

  • Breath in to the count of four. Hold to the count of four. Exhale to the count of four. Then hold the last bit of exhale to the count of four. Repeat the process for up to a minute or longer if necessary.

‘Empty Breath’

This is to calm the nerves. This breathing technique helps the parasympathetic nervous system to relaxe. This part of the autonomic nervous system helps control organs in the head, thorax, abdomen and pelvis. This has nothing to do with the limbs or skin.

  • Breath in or the count of 3 and exhale to the count of 6. Emptying your lungs as much as possible.
By Jackson Simmer on Unsplash

Breathing isn’t the only thing to help affect a person’s mood. For centuries music has been apart of culture and emotional healing. History has used sound healing for the sick and injured. Rhythmic shanties help with work productivity. Even playing classical music is thought to help with studying.

This suggestive playlist is what I personally use in my everyday life to help me get through the day.

  • Vikings Story by Amoeba Crew
  • Skapanir Album by Danheim
  • Skyrim Soundtrack, Music, Ambiance by Jeremy Soule
  • Assassin’s Creed Valhalla Sountrack by Jesper Kyd, Sarah Schachner, and Einar Selvik.
Screenshot of one of Amoeba Crew’s videos on YouTube.

*All music can be conveniently found on YouTube.*

The suggested music above is either drum heavy or has soft wind undertones. The rhythmic beat and diversity of the melodies can get you into any kind of mood.

Professionals do agree that music can improve mood and increase motivation. Studies have shown that music can cause brain stimulation to increase and that some pain/fatigue is more manageable. Popular tips for the most helpful type of music are:

  • No lyrics
  • Low volume when listening
  • Stream commercial free music
  • Avoid surprising/experimental music that has no constant rhythm or beat.
  • No songs with an emotional connection as it can be distracting when thinking.
  • Slow, instrumental music is preferred.
By Scott Gruber on Unsplash

The suggestions I have provided go against most of these tips. The Skyrim ambiance music helps me to calm my thoughts so I can fall asleep. There are no lyrics provided and it has string/wind music as a primary focus. On YouTube a playlist that can last up to ten hours is the longest track I’ve found. Preferably either the tavern background music or the night/rain ambiance music is the most relaxing.

Screenshot of Skyrim Taverns music by Everness channel on YouTube

The Assasins Creed Valhalla soundtrack keeps me occupied while doing housework or running errands. The rhythmic pounding of the drums and steady, throaty lyrics keep me motivated and in a working zone. In recent studies on addiction, the practice of drumming has been proven to cause relaxation, lower blood pressure and reduces stress. While I have not physically drummed myself, just listening to them gives me a sense of purpose.

Screenshot of Assasins Creed ‘Valhalla Calling’ on miracleofsound’s channel on YouTube

When driving (which is a major aspect of my day job) I prefer the Vikings Story by Amoeba Cew and the Skapanir album by Danheim. I am an angry individual and road rage is something I’m guilty of. It can be caused by other drivers, hanger from not finding a stopping point to eat, or stress from my own thoughts. These viking sounds help me reach a calming point to where I can concentrate on what I have to do safely. They tell a story that keeps me interested. Tension releases from my body and I’m in a zone that helps my through out my work day.

Screenshot of Danheim’s YouTube page

These breathing techniques and Viking/medieval music have really helped me out in life. I could be a much more angry person than I am today. Now the only anger and stress I feel is on the road (JK). If you don’t have the time to go for a run or enjoy the many luxuries of the salon, then I highly recommend these tips and tricks for calming down.

health
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.