Lifehack logo

Mental Hack to Shut Out Food Cravings

Unlocking Your Mind's Power: Conquering Food Cravings with Mental Hacks

By dark seagullPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like

Picture that moment when you're about to eat, or drink something you know damn well it's unhealthy for you. When you've just been told that either your cholesterol is off the charts, or you're prone to diabetes, but hey, can't refuse my dad's barbecue and mom's cookies ! The moment you say yes is the moment you let go of your self-respect, because, as we all know, indulging in some bad habit is exponential. It all starts with one cigarette, then two, then before you realize, you're hooked after three days.

I know for a fact that what I've just said sounds like I'm trying to sell you something. Which... Is true. I'm selling a concept in exchange for gaining experience in writing articles. Fair trade for a newbie, right ?

Without further gibberish, let's go over a strategy that can potentially work to shut out your cravings.

About a week ago, I was in Greece, in the backseat of my parents' old sedan, getting toasted at 40 C, trying to focus on reading an eBook. As I turned the page, the word "skim" popped up and the smell of yoghurt immediately tickled my nostrils (great use of words, I know). The point is, the book wasn't even remotely talking about skim milk, let alone yoghurt ! Still dairy, though.

Now, having had smelled yoghurt with no signs of it in the car, like a retard, I tried to imagine the taste of yoghurt. Guess what ! (it worked)

Then I tried it with literally every type of food I could think of. Texture too ! Only if my parents knew what the hell was their offspring fantasizing about...

So this is the catch : Whenever you crave some unhealthy food, picture what it's taste and texture are like. Visualize feeling, tasting, chewing and eating it. Replicate it's supposed taste as good as you can, and indulge in that thought. Now detach, and ask yourself : did I like this unhealthy food enough to actually put it in my body ? This visualization should only take 5 seconds.

Now, I know this sounds like utter bullshit, but if you just condition yourself to do this 5-second visualization every time, you'll obviously benefit in the long run. I'm not saying it is easy, though. You will need to have a high level of self control and presence in order to be able to avoid bad foods using this lifehack. It is, after all, just a hack, a pawn in the game of bettering yourself. True self control comes from progressively overloading your ability to focus, be present, and make a conscious decision. This is most commonly achieved through meditation and journaling. No, it's not some woo-woo hippie yoga ritual. One is learning to focus on your breath (which translates into day-to-day focus) and the other is just writing down your problems and dissecting them (to hopefully gain an insight).

Long story short, you need to wake up. As they say, "keep doing what you're doing and you're gonna keep getting what you're getting". Change up your diet altogether. It's not the quick dopamine hits of one or two cookies that's keeping you unfit. It's your mindset, and, of course, every single thing you make your body digest throughout the day.

This pretty much sums up my quick hack for you. If you want to read more about this type of quick hacks to improve your life, keep an eye on my stories. As a newbie writer, I'm doing my best to provide as much value as possible through my, well, writing. I'm grateful if you've read thus far !

how tohealthfood
Like

About the Creator

dark seagull

Young mind on a mission to put together amazing stories !

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.