Lifehack logo

Living Room Arrangements

By Jake Thomas

By Jake ThomasPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Sometimes our everyday tasks that appear unimportant in the moment can teach us a lot about life. That is because if we look closely, we can see a reflection of our larger life obstacles, goals, and tasks in these seemingly minute task. I noticed that this past weekend as I was rearranging my living room.

While rearranging the living room has been something Brandy and I have planned on for several weeks now it kept getting put off. Several weekends went by where we had the intention of doing so, yet by the end of the weekend it was still on the to do list. Often, in other aspects of life we procrastinate something, and it causes some form of hinderance in our life. When it came to rearranging the living room that hinderance was it added to my anxiety as this task was still on my ever-growing to do list. Also, it was robbing me of being able to fully enjoy the living room as I knew the space was not being used efficiently. So, by finally completing this task it not only helped ease some of my anxiety but also made better use of the space in my house.

As I was in the process of rearranging the living room on multiple occasions, I realized how I was arranging the furniture was not going to work as I had planned. After, the second or third time of this I could have just stopped and left it for someone else to finish, moved everything back and accomplished nothing, or put it together in some less than satisfactory way. I did none of those things, instead I took a moment to reanalyze the furniture and the space. I formulated a new plan to maximize the space and still fit all the furniture and create pathways to the laundry and utility rooms. I then asked my wife about my new plan and we discussed various options before deciding on a final plan. Often, we hit a hard spot in life, and we stop trying or hope someone else will fix our situation for us. While it is always good to ask for help when needed, you can not simply wait for someone to help or put your problems on them and not assist them in getting you help. If we take a moment to think about the situation, we can find a way to get through it or find the best way to seek help for the problem.

Part of the new plan included finding a way to store our extra blankets. We plan to eventually move them all into one of our spare bedrooms. However, that bedroom needs to be arranged differently to store the blankets in there. So, now that the living room is completed there is added motivation to complete the bedroom so that the blankets are not taking up unnecessary space in the living room. Often, we give up on a task or settle for something less because we believe our end goal to be unattainable either the way we want or completely. Sometimes we start something and realize there is more to the process than we realized and give up, or we think I want this, but it requires this or that and I do not know how to do that. However, sometimes just getting started is what gets us to do these extra steps to achieving our end goal or learning how to do these steps. So, it is important to remember that just because something appears unattainable does not mean it is unattainable it simply means that we still need to learn and grow for it to be attainable.

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. If you enjoyed it, please check out the Potent Puffin Podcast coming out every Monday! Also, this coming Friday is the third Friday of the month so join me on Paranormal Puffin to hear about one of my favorite cryptid felines the wampus cat!

house

About the Creator

Jake Thomas

The Potent Puffin talking about my life experiences and hobbies. Paranormal Puffin discusses all things related to the paranormal. Puffin art and Sport Cards

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jake ThomasWritten by Jake Thomas

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.