Lifehack logo

Lazy Days

A Day Off

By Kelly RileyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

My weeks are filled with what seems like thousands of things to do. Anywhere from work, shopping, and errands to cleaning, writing, and cooking. There are so many things that I have do, that I don’t think about what I want to do.

I remember when I had more free time, when weekends were dedicated to hanging out with friends, watching movies, reading books, playing board games.

Now, I feel like there’s no time for any of that. I work 40-60 hours a week, cook dinner, do the errands, and try and get to bed at a decent hour.

Currently, my boyfriend and I are preparing to sign for a house, so of course that is stuff that is added to my weekly agenda. We have so much to do, and get ready for it. There’s paperwork, forms, and the endless calling and texting between my buyer agent and loan agent. It can be extremely exhausting. I honestly don’t think I’ve been this busy in my entire life. I can’t stop thinking about how I need a day off, a day to myself, a day where I can be lazy and do the things I *want* to do, and not have to do.

So I decided that today is that day. Today is my lazy day. I finally have a day off from work. I finally have the time to enjoy myself. I purchased ingredients to make bath bombs the other day while I was doing errands. I will be making some and giving them to friends and family for Christmas. I am also going to read a few chapters of a book that I purchased *six* months ago, that I have been dying to read since I saw it on the shelf at Barnes & Noble. I am also going to bake brownies, and eat half the pan because I have worked my butt off these last few weeks. I haven’t been home in almost two weeks. I travel for work and it can be rough on your emotional mindset.

So today is *my* day. My boyfriend is working until 6, I have 10 hours to myself, and I am going to make the day of it. I’m going to enjoy it and spend time with myself, my cat, and my couch. I honestly can’t remember the last time I spent time by myself. When I’m working, I work 12 hour days, go to the hotel, pass out, then start over for an entire week or two, depending on how long I’m gone from home. Even on the weeks I’m back, I have a part time job that I work, and so I just feel like I’m constantly around people.

It’s sad that in today’s society, people think others should be super sociable and enjoy spending time with others all the time, but that’s not true. I am very much a social person, but even socialites need a break from people. Sometimes, I feel like I’ve gotten to the point where my cat makes better company than most people!

It’s also a stigma that having a “lazy day” is bad, and that there’s always something that needs to be done. Even though, yes, I have things I could be doing, it is alright to dedicate a day to yourself and enjoy the small things life has to offer. I enjoy sitting on my couch, looking out the window, and watching the cars drive back and forth on the highway while Snickers sits on the window sill, basking in the sun. It relaxes me and puts me in a soothing mood, even though it accomplishes nothing important.

Just because I’m an adult doesn’t mean I can’t be lazy, it just means I have to set aside days to be lazy outside of my busy schedule. Mental health is important, and today, my doctor is my couch and it’s about to do a whole physical.

house
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.