Lifehack logo

Keeping a Plant Alive

Quick tips to keeping a plant alive

By Shasta ScottPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Keeping a Plant Alive
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Some people are born with the gift of having a green thumb. Meaning, gardening and horticultural activities come easy for them. I imagine this to be about as true as naturally talented sports players or artists. Not that you can't have a natural knack for something, it's just that everything we do requires repetition to reaching perfection. My mother used to tell me "practice doesn't make perfect, perfect practice makes perfect." If you want to get truly good at something and master your skill you have to put in the time, effort and energy to become better.

When it comes to growing a plant, a lot of the grunt work is in the up keep and learning about the different plants you have. Some plants require less sunshine and more water while others require little to no water and a lot of sunlight. Potting soil, if you're dealing with potted plants, is recommended to be changed every 6 months. This change allows you too see how the roots of your plant have grown and if it's necessary to repot your plant into a larger vessel.

Garden centers at your local grocery store and hardware stores are a great place to start if you're not sure how to begin. My first plant, that is still with me for the moment, was a mint plant I bought in the produce section of a Walmart. I've had it for almost a year and have harvested a handful of fresh leaves 2 or 3 times. I tried to do the same with a cilantro plant, I thought if I can keep this mint alive surely I can do the same with the cilantro. Unfortunately, that was when I learned about different herbs having different harvests. Cilantro was a one and done plant. I do wonder if I would have been able to defy those odds had I held on to the roots and given it more time to grow. It could have been a waste of time but at least I would know I had done all I could to get the most out of it.

By Angèle Kamp on Unsplash

Differing flowers, fruits, and vegetable seeds all have different planting seasons for each region of the United States. In theory I think I knew this, but I hadn't thought about it until recently after purchasing flower seeds. For everything there is a season. (Ecclesiastes 3:1-8) Patience is key when planting your first seed. It doesn't grow over night and it is a commitment to water everyday, if required, and make sure your plant has the proper amount of sunlight. If you need something low maintenance, I would suggest a succulent or small potted cactus. These plants require little water and you can place them inside your home or outside on your porch or in a garden bed.

Take the time to read any information that may come with the purchase of you new plant and/or seeds. If none is provided start with your basics, potting soil, a place to plant and grow, water, sunlight, and patience and then do some research. Look for gardening books or beginner guides to getting started. If you're like me at all the hardest part will be the patience. Why isn't this growing? When will I see results? What if I do everything right, everything I'm told to do, and don't see results? That last question is the hardest one for me. Or maybe it's the waiting 2 to 3 to 4 months before seeing the final product and not knowing when I will see that first leaf or first bit of growth because what if I don't ever see it? I have to wait until next season to try again.

Chances are you already know someone who can give you tips and advice on how to grow a successful garden. Perhaps a grandparent or a cousin who was praised for his horticultural abilities at many family gatherings. Reach out to those people and use them as resources when starting your own garden.

garden
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.