Lifehack logo

Is The 30 Day Minimalist Challenge an Efficient Way to Declutter?

I tried the 30-Day declutter challenge

By Sophia SymPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
1
Is The 30 Day Minimalist Challenge an Efficient Way to Declutter?
Photo by Onur Bahçıvancılar on Unsplash

We’ve lived in our current home for over 10 years, and having a fondness for thrift shopping, I’ve filled it with a decent amount of stuff. (I do a half-hearted purge every few years, but my closets and drawers are often full to bursting.) The idea of having a massive clear-out appeals to me, but when it comes down to it, it feels too great a task.

After watching a few YouTube videos on decluttering, the 30-day declutter challenge seemed like a good fit and preferable to some of the Marie Kondo-inspired whole-room blitzing methods.

What is the 30-day declutter game?

The 30-day declutter challenge is a simple idea devised by minimalist authors Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus. They encourage people to adopt habits that place less emphasis on material possessions. The game is just a way of easing into a more minimalist way of living. The goal is not only to create physical space but also to free up mental and emotional space by letting go of unnecessary attachments to material objects.

The challenge starts slowly but requires more effort as you progress through the month.

On the first day, you get rid of one item.

On the second day, two items.

On the third day, three items, and so on…

By the 30th day as you get rid of your final 30 items and all having gone to plan, you should have removed over 465 items from your home by then.

Partnering up

You don’t have to do the challenge with anyone else, but it’s more interesting if you do, and you can keep each other on track. Each day, you post pics of the stuff you’re getting rid of, and your partner does the same.

I did the challenge with my friend and we emailed over pictures daily. She dropped a lot of her stuff off to charity shops, but I decided to put my stuff out into the street in a big ‘Free’ box each evening. I live in a very busy area of the city and to my surprise the box would usually be cleared by the next day.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Donate, Sell, or chuck!

Whatever you decide to get rid of, the Minimalists say it should be out of your house by the end of each day, although this isn’t always practical if you are going to sell or donate stuff. Nearly anything goes — except for food or garbage.

I found clothes, toiletries, tools, and kitchenware to be the most in need of blitzing.

Many people find it easier to work through the house section by section. It makes sense when you are short of time.

I chose to get rid of the larger items at the beginning of the challenge and first off was an uncomfortable exercise bike I had picked up for next to nothing on Gumtree. I dragged it out to the street, and it vanished within an hour. (It was dumped back onto the street a few days later though).

The challenge does get a lot harder after the first couple of weeks. I lost momentum a bit, but that’s where teaming up with someone else helps. Knowing that you have to post evidence each day keeps you on track.

As we got to the end of the month, I had to search for stuff to get rid of, and the ‘man drawers’ in the kitchen with their collection of ancient batteries, screwdrivers, and rusted tools were my go-to in the last few days.

By Tim Gouw on Unsplash

Was the challenge a positive experience?

My friend and I completed the challenge but were more enthusiastic initially. We both like seeing each other’s clutter collections each day. The most fun picture she sent me was of her old collection of four-foot gothic-style iron candlesticks she unearthed from her mum’s attic to donate. (I remembered when she used to have them all ablaze with candles all around her room in the early 90's). Toward the end of the month though, we were just posting pictures of stationary and old makeup as it did get a little boring.

There were many more positives though. It was a good feeling to give away so much stuff and I loved seeing the empty cardboard box each morning. I was delighted to rehome our 7-foot family Christmas tree, which needed each branch to be sorted by size and then screwed in by hand. It would take over 2 hours to put together even before decorating. Good luck to whoever got that!

Authors own photo : Family Christmas tree on it's last outing

The challenge didn’t make me pivot to a more minimalist style of living. Although removing 465 items sounds like a lot, it doesn’t make much of a dent in a family home. However, the challenge did encourage me to think a little more about the kinds of things I need to prioritize in my home. I was happy to scale down my wardrobe and cosmetics. Also, I do like looking in my closets and drawers and finding them a little tidier — however long that lasts.

I have also published this article on Medium.

Sources

https://www.theminimalists.com/

how to
1

About the Creator

Sophia Sym

Writing about true crime and unsolved mysteries. Medium/Vocal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Steven Christopher McKnight3 months ago

    Honestly can't imagine downsizing that much, but alas, I am but a filthy maximalist.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.