Lifehack logo

Intentional

My resolution to get this "Hot Mess" organized!

By Rugergirl22Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Intentional
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Busy.

Life is Busy.

Trust me you don’t have to tell me about yours for me to believe you. I’m a full-time nursing student. Part-time Nurse Extern. Full-time small business owner. And of course… a writer.

When it comes to hobbies, I wish I could say I had more time to do them, but they are all time consuming too. Hiking, Paddleboarding, Archery… you name it I have probably at least tried to dabble in it. Some more… eh ... successfully than others.

This year my new resolution is to find balance. And REST.

I spent the majority of my twenties just trying to figure out what I wanted to do. The main fallback I always had, bartending. As far as quick money and a fast-paced environment I craved, it was amazing. When it came to the hours my night owl heart loved every minute of it. Combined with being a hairstylist, phlebotomist, and running a granite countertop operation I would always fall back to weekends behind the bar for the cash flow.

Bartending had the dual benefit of making money and keeping me out of trouble. Instead of being a patron paying for drinks, I was getting paid to sling them. Trust me when I say this was probably the best thing for me. I was able to get the social interaction I craved without winding up with a DUI or worse.

As I’ve progressed in the nursing program, I have been unable to sustain the hours at the bar while juggling the academic and time requirements for the program I attend. (Graduation is June 2022 THANK GOODNESS!) Part of the biggest struggle I’ve faced is adjusting to a “normal” schedule. That rising early and needing the brain to function before 10 am…. Talk about a struggle.

After bartending for so many years my circadian rhythm is pretty much nonexistent. I’ve fought with it for a while now. I live on Folger’s coffee and the firm belief that nothing should be mandatory before 10 am. Unfortunately, nursing school and new employment opportunities have taught me that it’s just not feasible.

Looking forward to this next year, there are some things I want to change about how I do life. In order to change my sleep habits, one thing is clear, I need to get organized. I have never, NEVER been the type of person you would refer to as “organized.” Usually, it's more like “hot mess but she gets it done somehow.”

This year, I decided to be Intentional about “getting my life together”. Fortunately, I found a little gem that is already helping. It’s called a Clever Fox Planner Pro. The best part? I found it on Amazon. I have never been into planners, but this one is so much more.

Not only does it contain months, weeks, and general note pages. It also encourages you to set short- and long-term goals, track your habits, and live a life of gratitude. They are so serious about you using it to gain your full potential that they send a quick guidebook to help you take advantage of everything it has to offer. After you finish a week or a month it even has reflective questions and spaces to fill in how you felt your week or month went so you can set yourself up for better success the next one.

**Check it out HERE to see what I mean!**

My resolutions this year include:

  • Getting to bed by 10pm.
  • Working out 3x a week.
  • Writing 3x a week.
  • Reading for fun 3x a week.

Am I going to achieve all of these, every single week? I hope so! But, probably not in reality. My Clever Fox Planner will help me track when I’m successful and work on scheduling my life better to meet my goals.

What are your goals this year?

Please give this story a <3 and a subscribe. For a small-time writer, the little things mean the world!

*As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

product review
1

About the Creator

Rugergirl22

Just a small-time writer excited to get some of my work out there. I have had a myriad of jobs and enjoy bringing experience and imagination while building small worlds with vivid imagery to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.