Lifehack logo

I Want That!

Now I Can Track

By Jason Charotte Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

My wife and I were talking about watches about a week ago. The one I had quit working a few months back, I was still wearing it for the fashion, clearly not for the time. No wonder I was always running late, at least I looked good sporting a fine wrist watch. Within minutes of our conversation, smart watch ads began popping up on my social media feeds. I couldn't scroll through Facebook or do a Google search without coming across a watch advertisement. It's like they were ease-dropping on our conversation! I wonder what else they heard us talking about. I could probably find out by looking at my Facebook ads more closely.

Some of my friends and family were talking about how their smart watch tracks their steps, their sleep, their calories, the weather, even their heartbeat. I want that, I want to be tracked! My old, yet stylish wrist watch couldn’t even track the time. I was watch envy and guilty of breaking the tenth commandment, you know the one about not coveting. I think that means not wanting what others have. But I did want what others had, a new smart watch, not a stupid one. I was going to get it, I was on a mission!

I then went on Amazon to do wishful shopping, which means that I put things that I wish for in my cart and hope they will magically get shipped to me. It hasn't work out yet, but here's to wishfully thinking. And yep, there it was, the iWatch that I have been eyeing, been coveting! It was a little pricey, but what do you know! If I purchase it with an Amazon credit card, I get $100 off. What a deal. I could not resist, so I applied, got the card and bought my watch.

I couldn't wait, I was like a little kid two days before Christmas. I actually couldn't sleep the night before it was supposed to arrive. I could write a book, “The Night Before iWatch”. The next day while at work, I kept checking the delivery status and my Ring app to see when it would finally arrive. I was even ready to leave work early, yes, I may have been obsessing, but I didn't care, I wanted my watch, I wanted it now!

Well, wouldn't you know it, there was a shipping delay! I was more than a little disappointed. I would have to endure another sleepless night. The next evening it arrived, I didn’t have to leave work early, though I actually did for the heck of it. So much anticipation over such a small box. I opened it with a drum roll in my head and there it was, this glorious little watch with more power than my desktop computer (it was old). After consulting with my 15 year old son, who knows more about electronics than Steve Wozniak, I was running around like a proud father. The watch was everything I'd hoped for and more! Now I can track everything and it even tells the time. Oh, did I mention I can get phone calls and text messages? Amazing! Thanks for the great deal Amazon.

I paid off the credit card, cancelled it and now waiting for another offer so I can get another great deal. I’ll do that all day if it means saving some hard earned money. There are truly so many good deals out there. You just have to be a little patient and keep a good eye out, or both eyes out, whatever it takes. Though coveting is one of the top ten sins, I’m sure God can forgive me, after all, I saved some money and I can track everything.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Jason Charotte

I live in California with my beautiful wife. We have two children and love travel and adventure!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.