Lifehack logo

iPhone 12 VS Nokia 3310

Why I switched from the hottest phone to the practically inexistant

By Dila OaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
My Nokia next to my retired iPhone 11

I remember the day that my parents finally gave into getting me an iPhone. I was so excited and giddy as we got dressed and drove to the mall. I guess all of that excitement brushed off onto my parents too because before I knew it, all 3 of us were trading in our Blackberry Curves for the glorious iPhone 4.

As I grew older, my iPhone did not. My cherished iPhone 4 turned into the 5, then the 5C, the SE, the 7, then finally, the iPhone 11. That’s 6 phones in the span of maybe 8 years. Don’t get me wrong- there was absolutely nothing wrong with any of them (except the 7 which I broke). I simply and mindlessly followed the trend to switch phones to get the latest features and a growing screen.

About a month ago, my dad was telling me about the new iPhone 12 and the iPhone mini. Just to let it be known, I have a weakness for objects that are smaller than the status quo. Proof? I drive a Smart car. Anyway, here I am, with a perfectly good iPhone 11, ready to jump to the 12.

The following Sunday, my phone pings with the weekly “Screen time” updates. Normally, I just ignore these however this time something prompted me to look. 6 hours and 29 minutes...PER DAY. I knew that I spend time everyday on Instagram and all those fun apps, however I would’ve never thought that I spent 6 and a half hours on my phone everyday. I don’t even remember what it was that I was doing.

Thus started my journey to reduce my screen time. I used to constantly complain that I don’t have time to study or complete my work or cook or clean. I realize now that that is absolutely true. When you take out 6 hours of your day, of course you won’t have time to do anything. This ”lack of hours in a day” enabled some irrelevant behaviours. Since I didn’t have time to prepare a lunch, I was justified to spend $23 on Uber Eats. Since I didn’t have time to go through all of my emails at work, I was justified to bring my phone to the washroom (don’t judge, we all do it).

A week later, again on Sunday, I receive my screen time notification: 6 hours and 13 minutes. How come my tedious efforts only reduced my time by 16 minutes a day? I wasn’t in control at all. The infinite scroll into a black hole was eating my time and my energy.

I needed an extra push to help me get out of this terrible cycle. When a friend messaged me on Instagram, I replied then ended up spending about 10 minutes just scrolling, practically free-falling from post to post. Same thing when people messaged me or send me notifications on Facebook, Snapchat, WhatsApp, email, etc. I may not have been scrolling on WhatsApp for hours, however I started there then ended up somewhere else. I realized that I was making myself too accessible. Not only did this type of accessibility eat up my time, it justified me paying $50 a month for my phone bill just to be able to have internet wherever I go. All that so I could look an a funny (hilarious) meme, on-the-go.

So I took the next step: cutting my phone bill in half. I stopped paying for data and even requested a data block on my phone. I can almost hear you saying “What about Google Maps?”. Let it be known that you can pre-download geographical locations on Google Maps, therefore you don’t even have to use data to navigate. Plus, I paid the extra $500 for navigation in my car, so why wasn’t I using it? A week later, my screen time was down to a little less than 4 hours. That’s when the Nokia 3310 came into my life.

The Nokia cost about $80 and has barely any of the features the iPhone has. Surprisingly, it does have a browser and a Facebook app pre-installed, however with my data block and no possibility to connect to wifi, I have no temptation to go on it. It has buttons, and games like Tetris and Snake.

There’s no way to know exactly how much time I am spending on my Nokia. One thing I can tell you however is that I am waking up earlier with more energy, I have time to have breakfast, prepare a lunch, take care of my parrot and dog, get prepared myself, and drive to work without being pressed for time. Before, the first thing I used to do when I opened my eyes in the morning was grab my phone and scroll for a good half hour (you probably do it too). Yes, it does take some effort to text as I have to press 7 four times to get the “s”, however I appreciate it because I value in person and phone conversations over text conversations.

My approach to reducing screen time is not suitable for everyone, I understand that. This being said, it is very important to be 100% in the moment at all times. You may be losing precious time and energy in your day too, without even being conscious of it.

tech
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.