Lifehack logo

I Had to Delete the Weather App: and Here's Why

Have we let apps dictate our happiness?

By James LogiePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
I Had to Delete the Weather App: and Here's Why
Photo by Saulo Mohana on Unsplash

Do you obsessively check the weather like I do?

I like to get a look at what the day and week have in store weather-wise. But after a while, I realized that using the Apple weather app was causing me a bit of anguish.

If I saw that the next week had the simple sun icon each day, it gave me a sense of happiness. This little icon made me think it was clear skies ahead and would lift my mood. However, if it just showed the cloud icon or the cloud with rain/lighting, it immediately ruined my mood.

Several days of storm clouds had me throwing in the towel for any hope of an enjoyable week. Looking at the days to come was determining my mood before they even happened. So I ended up deleting it.

It finally occurred to me I was letting a simple little icon determine my happiness. Even if it's just a little anguish - it's still anguish. And this is what these simple pixels were doing to me.

The worst thing is, the Apple weather app is usually completely off. Even at the best of times, weather predictions are constantly wrong - especially with Apple. It really seems like a 50/50 toss-up and they just flip a quarter.

Getting rid of the app cleared up some of the anguish I subjected myself to each day. Now, I'm using a unique approach where I stick my head out the window to see what the day is like.

I may get caught in the rain, but that's happened even when the weather has told me it's going to be nice. 

This isn't really just about the weather app - it's more about how we let these outside things determine our happiness and self-worth.

What Else Can You Delete?

While I was at this, I wondered what other apps were sucking the soul out of me. Here's a few I decided were not worth my time. 

The Phone App

One of the first I deleted was the phone app. You may not realize you can do this, but you can delete it from your phone and store it off-screen if you need it.

I can't remember the last time I made a phone call, and it's something I refuse to do. If I need to get ahold of someone; I'll text them like a regular human being. I've always hated taking on the phone, and these days, it seems as archaic as sending messages by carrier pigeon.

Social Media Apps

I think this one goes without saying. We've gained so much information about how damaging social media can be to our mental health. Honestly, it's astonishing we even willingly subjected ourselves to them.

I feel that thirty years from now, we'll look back in horror at what we allowed these things to do to our mental health. And worse: we actually let kids use them.

I deleted these long ago, and it's one of the best things I've ever done. There's not a lot you gain from them - besides the anxiety and anguish - and honestly; I just don't think they're fun. 

Turn off Notifications

This is a big one. The constant ping of a notification has created a Pavlovian response in us. Let a notification come through and see how long you can go before you check your phone. It will probably be a few seconds at most - and I include myself in this. 

By turning off all notifications - and checking on your own time - you can reduce your stress. A study from Carnegie Mellon University suggests that turning notifications off for even 24-hours can noticeably improve your concentration and reduce your stress levels. 

I've found this to be a massive help. 

Phones in general cause a lot of anxiety. If you find yourself tethered to your phone: make it as boring as possible. That means delete any attention-stealing apps.

When there's not much on your phone vying for your attention - or distraction - you'll find you use it less. This has worked well for me. 

You may question why even have a phone at this point, and maybe we don't really need them at all. There are, however, some great uses I prefer to focus on.

Make Your Phone Work For You - Not Against You

I see my phone as a vehicle for entertainment and productivity. Right now, I mainly use it for podcasts and music. I've started to view it more as an iPod than a phone. This has let me put it down more often, and keep it down. 

The two big things I love about my phone are the notes app and the reminders app. I have found these to be incredible productivity tools. The reminders app, especially, has really helped me stay productive and on schedule. 

You may love some third-party productivity apps and calendars, but the updates to the reminders app have made it an exceptional tool. 

Final Thoughts

The new approach I've taken with my phone has really helped me take back control of my mental health. Our phones bombard us with notifications and demands - and it's easy to let it get out of hand.

For me, it started with the simple act of deleting the weather app. From there, you will find yourself motivated to cut out other unnecessary distractions that don't bring any joy - just distraction. 

If there are certain apps that cause you too much mental anguish, try removing them for a week or two and see if it makes some improvements. You won't be missing out on anything, and you may like what you find. 

social media
Like

About the Creator

James Logie

Personal trainer, nutrionist, traveler, blogger, podcaster, lover of the 80s.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.