Lifehack logo

How to Run a Successful Fundraiser

I had to raise 8 grand for my dog: this is how I did it

By Marie WilsonPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 4 min read
3
How to Run a Successful Fundraiser
Photo by Anoir Chafik on Unsplash

1. Don't be shy about asking for money: if it's for your beloved pet, as mine was, you'll get plenty of incentive by just looking into her eyes.

Make your goal as manageable as possible; don't shoot for $20,000 if 5 or 10 will do. You can always do an add-on later if you need more cash.

Choose your platform and work the fundraiser for all it's worth. You want to keep your cause in front of people’s eyes.

Our dog Nixie

2. Print posters about your funder and put them around your hood. If it's for your dog, put some in dog parks. In addition to b&w posters I did a limited run with a colour pic of my dog, Nixie, and asked pet (and other) stores if they’d put one in their window.

Most of the action came from social media, however, but it’s worth noting that a few significant donations came from people seeing my poster. If it's about a pup, make sure that dog walkers know about your funder. Walkers love dogs - one I know handed me $100 straight out of her pocket when I saw her in the park and told her about Nixie.

3. Work social media constantly: Go through your FB friend list and select people you can personally message, like this: "Hi Susan (use their name, so it is personalized): My dog has an injury and I am trying to raise funds for her the surgery. I appreciate any and all donations. But if you can't donate, I understand. Sharing her funder is also much appreciated, if you can." (Attach the funder link - obviously).

By Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

It's a lot of work to personalize each message and send it individually but it's worth it. It might also feel a bit weird to ask for money so directly but if the cause is dear to you, you will find the courage. I didn't even know some folks whom I pitched, except on FB, but their profiles often included a dog, so I knew they'd understand what it's like to love one so much.

4. Prepare an email and send it to all your relatives and friends or even acquaintances whom you think might be sympathetic. And think of communities you might tap who’d be interested in helping. My three kids are all artists in different mediums - they shared my posts and each of their respective communities pitched in. Artists don’t have a lot of money but every tiny amount counts.

That’s another thing to promote: every little bit counts, no donation too small! Here's a video Nixie & I made to let folks know they could give as little as 5 bucks, just by giving up a snack or something -

5. Lots of folks are not on social media, so make sure your posters have information for those who want to give cash. I got many envelopes stuffed in my mailbox with significant contributions. A few people showed up at my door to donate sums they weren't comfortable putting in the mailbox.

Photo by MW

6. Put updates on the funder site: post pics of the projected costs so people know you’re on the level. If this is for your pet and their problem is visible, post pics of it: make sure your photos show what a loveable dog or cat or iguana you have! Positivity is key to all funders.

7. Pitch local (or international) celebrities who support causes similar to yours: just one shout out on social media from such a person can really boost activity on your funder. I wrote a letter to Doris Day, a champion among animal lovers. It was a long shot and there was no reply but, hey, it was worth a try. Que Sera Sera. Rest in Peace, Miss Day.

Doris Day in what I hope is fake fur

8. Look for angles that a local newspaper might be interested in. Google local rags and blogs and pitch your angle to them. If you cat is a rescue or your dog is a therapy dog, there's probably an interesting story about them.

9. Start an FB page for your funder. Our dog’s page was called "Beautiful Nixie" and I invited everyone in the world to join it. Then I made daily posts about Nixie's progress: pics, videos, stories, scans of bills, amusing Internet dog posts, whatever I thought would keep the page active and in front of people. It was very effective.

10. Add in-person funders to your online efforts - do a street yard sale and ask for a percentage of all sales for your pet.

"Please Help Nixie"

Bonus Tip: When I told my vet I was doing a fundraiser he was helpful in getting me a payment plan (half upon surgery, half a month later). This is something vets aren't usually willing to do because so often they get stiffed for the balance. So, present yourself as trustworthy and devoted to your furry friend - and tell them how hard you’re working at the funder. In this way your pet can have surgery while you still have time to raise more funds.

how to
3

About the Creator

Marie Wilson

Harper Collins published my novel "The Gorgeous Girls". My feature film screenplay "Sideshow Bandit" has won several awards at film festivals. I have a new feature film screenplay called "A Girl Like I" and it's looking for a producer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Awesome advice!!! Congratulations on your fund raiser for Nixie!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.