Lifehack logo

How To Remember Memories

My way to recall a memory when I was 16 years old during a school trip to London.

By Agnes LaurensPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
How To Remember Memories
Photo by Laura Fuhrman on Unsplash

Recently, I found out that I remembered something I did when I was on a trip with my high school class, at the age of fifteen. How I suddenly remembered that exactly movement? I don't know. I remembered everything but except one or two things.

So, I was looking up on these things through my personal stuff from that time. I could not find it at all, or partially. So, I was thinking what I knew and what I remembered. I used my journalistic tools to get the memory fully back.

Time when the memory happened

When was it that the occasion happened that I have relived in my mind for weeks?

I started to rethink about when it happened, in which year, in which season. Why does it pop up in my head again after these years?

So, that must be 2004. My last year at high school. Most of the memories are not relevant for this particular event that I am looking for, but on the other hand, it is a fact of matter that is part of the memory I have and how many things I remember.

What happened

What was the memory about? What things do I remember, such as buildings, people? Was it busy on the streets? Were there buildings you remember? Were there adults? Were there children? Were there any other relevant information you remember?

All these questions I ask myself to remember any situations, occasion or memory I have, or I have been through. I believe it is important to remember memories, and this way you can train your brain as well. Your long term brain and your short term brain.

What I remember from that memory

I went on a school trip to London. I was about fifteen or sixteen years old. It was 2004, the last year of high school.

I remember that I was on a trip with school in my last year of high school. We went to London. There were three classes and five teachers going on that trip. We went by bus and the ferry. I was in the front of the bus because I was car sick.

We needed a buddy, a friend or another classmate from school. And at school a girl walked to me and asked if I wanted to be her buddy, as she had fights with her friends at that moment. So, she also knew I was going to London, and I was alone.

There were guest families who were taking care of us during the period were staying there. I remember there were three French school students at the same time. We were staying with another family there, together, at their house.

We went on excursions with the classes and visiting important and historical places. One of these places was a museum. We went into this museum with the whole class, but after that we were allowed to visit a part of London where were at that moment, and we had to be back within three hours.

I remember I had been alone the whole time, even we had to be with a buddy. My buddy went along with her friend because they solved their fight. She didn't want me to be there too: 'They don't like you'. So, the tone was set. I said bye and left, as I didn't want to make a scene at that time.

Before the trip, we got a plan what we are going to do. I realized that one of the greatest concert halls in London stands next to this museum. I looked that up and more things to do in that area to explore myself.

In these three hours, I walked through the area looking for that concert hall in this neighborhood. I finally found it through the analog route map I took with me. I remembered there was a bridge I walked over to get at the museum and then walking straight to the concert hall. I really wanted to go to that concert hall, just to take a look at the building inside.

Unfortunately, the concert hall was closed.

How can you remember memories back

What I remember from that moment, I write down on a piece of paper: there were certain things I know, and things I remember what it was, such as a building.

So, I remembered I was with a museum, and I could walk from the museum to the concert hall.

I forgot which museum and which music hall I was looking for. So, I scrolled through the Wikipedia list with music halls in London. I found two that could be the one I was looking for. From this list I knew it was The Royal Festival Hall or it was the Barbican Centre.

I searched for both them online and looked at the pictures. Both could be the one. Then, I looked them up on Google Maps. And there I found the one next to a museum and where I just could walk to one of those buildings.

When I saw the name of the museum, I remembered the surrounding, the bridge I walked on to go downstairs to the museum while it was very busy over there. I also remember there was a stand with bad stuff people - mostly tourist - buy when they walk by (I didn't), and then I went downstairs to the museum and the concert hall of course.

When I knew the name of the concert halls I thought I am looking both up online, then I didn't recognize one of them because both it could be possible. Then I went to street view on Google Maps, then I was right about the Royal Festival Hall. I saw the stairs, I saw the museum (and yes, I also remembered the name of museum as there rang a bell), also the long sidewalk in front of the museum and the Royal Festival Hall.

I am so glad I tried to find back the missing part of my memory.

I did it with help from Google, my own memory - visible photographs in my mind, and other parts what I still remember.

That is how you remember your memories.

how to
1

About the Creator

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives with her daughters. Writing is, like playing the violin, her passion. She writes about anything that crosses her mind. Follow her on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.