Lifehack logo

How to make strong smelling wax melts!

Keep your customers coming back with a scent throw that knocks their socks off!

By LaurenPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

I learnt very quickly being in the wax melt business that if the scent throw isn’t strong, 9 times out of 10 your customer won’t return.

One thing that gave me so much confidence in my melts was the fact I knew they packed a punch with their scent pay off.

Heres a list of my top tips for creating tip top melts!

1: Quality is EVERYTHING

I truly believe that in the world of wax melt creation that you get what you pay for. If you don’t spend time and money investing in making your products better they won’t be the best! I found that the fragrance suppliers with the strongest scent throw were both Craftovator and Supplies for Candles! While I’m here I just have to mention that the Supplies for Candles Rose Wonderland dupe is actually incredible! And I haven’t even been paid to say that, I’ve just never smelt a scent so strong 🤣! You can find it here!

What I will also say is that you should be adding 10% fragrance oil to your wax mixture with every fragrance. Even if you smell one and you feel like it’s really strong it doesn’t mean you should then drop your fragrance load down to 5% so you can spread it out over more wax melts. This will just reduce the burn time for each melt and leave the customer feeling disappointed when the smell is gone after one use! Ensuring your melts contain 10% fragrance oil will ensure you will have around one hour of fragrance per gram of wax!

Just as the fragrance quality is important, so is your wax. You won’t get good results if you buy a random bag of wax and just throw it all together. Certain types of wax give off different smells when hot and this can really interfere with the fragrance. No one likes to smell a waxy/oily after scent. Personally I used to make my own blend of both high quality eco soy and eco coconut wax to get the best results.

2: Watch your temperatures!

In terms of tips, this is a HUGE one! I would class this as one of those tips I would have never dreamed of sharing with my competitors but..

Not only do you need to add your 10% fragrance oil to your wax, you need to add it at the correct time. If your wax is too hot when you add your fragrance oil, what will happen? Your fragrance will begin evaporating, you’ll be using up all of that glorious scent before you’ve even poured the wax. Personally I would never add fragrance oil above 60• and most certainly not 70•. Generally I would try to add fragrance at the lowest temperature I possibly could to ensure that none of that fragrance is escaping. Opinions differ hugely about this online, but hey, this is just my humble opinion 😉!

By Hans Reniers on Unsplash

3: TEST, TEST, TEST!

It’s very likely by now that you will have read this tip 1000 times over. But any successful wax vendor will tell you they didn’t get there by chance. It takes hours and hours of testing how your fragrances work with one another and indeed the environment you’re preparing them in!

Test make some melts adding fragrance at different temperatures until you find the optimum numbers for the wax you’re using.

Do it again but this time keep an eye on what temperature your room is at when you pour. All of this information is crucial when you’re working with something that sets!

It’s kinda boring doing all of this testing I know but it really does pay off when you start realising you’ve created your idea of perfection and that scent throw is enough to fragrance your home for a whole day!

4: Low melting point

So, if you’re using a wax that takes longer to melt, what’s going to happen is your wax melts aren’t going to get hot enough in the burner to really throw off that beautiful fragrance oil. By using a wax with a lower melting point you will notice that once you put it on the burner it starts melting almost instantly. This means your customer is going to start smelling strong fragrance sooner instead of waiting twenty minutes then saying to their partner “can you smell anything I lit that half an hour ago?”. Customers want results fast! And so they should! Many of my customers would comment “I’ve only just put my melt on and I can already smell it coming up the stairs”!

You know you’ve got it right when you can literally see the fragrance oil evaporating before your eyes 😍! And what’s better, your customers will tag you in the proof too, which leads to an increase in your sales!

I truly hope these tips will provide at least one valuable nugget of information to really boost your fragrance game!

If you would like more information and tips on how to make more money with your wax melt business then please read my other article here —> “Can I make money selling wax melts?”

You can also find me on Instagram at @moon.lava if you want to know more!

crafts
1

About the Creator

Lauren

28 Year old mama, wife and chronic illness sufferer with hEDS and PoTS+

I started a successful business that I had to close due to my illness so I’m now paying my knowledge forward so that other small business owners can benefit!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.