Lifehack logo

How To Get Fit And Lose Weight

It's a lot easier than you think.

By Adam EvansonPublished 10 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
1
How To Get Fit And Lose Weight
Photo by Jenny Hill on Unsplash

On the 23rd of June, I published a story about my efforts to get rid of my beer belly, which I somehow acquired without touching a drop of beer. Here is what has happened so far.

As I said in the article, if you do a certain amount of regular exercise you will lose weight. How much depends on how much and how often you do the exercise. However, it also depends on what you eat, as I have recently found out about to my cost.

The last time I spoke about my weight I was down from 91 to 87.50kg, and then I seemed to hit a brick wall. I found myself fluctuating between 87.50kg and 88.50kg. To get to that position I had to try to do between four and seven thousand steps of walking a day. And every time I got my weight down to the lower figure, my next meal and intake of calories were putting it right back up to the higher figure. Clearly, I would have to do something to get me out of this bind.

This morning the outside temperature dropped from the 31 degrees Celsius of yesterday to 27 degrees. This meant that I could put more mileage on the clock, as it were. So, after weighing myself, shortly after a light breakfast, I tipped the scales at 87.50Kg. Then I went out on my recovered stolen bicycle.

This time I did my exercise by the kilometer rather than steps. When I got home I had covered 6.5 km, and surprise surprise, my weight was down to 86.50kg. A full kilo down, which was cause for a little celebration. Then after a light lunch, I went out again to put another 8.5 km on my bike. That meant I had covered 15km in total or about 13,000 steps.

This put me in the zone of active, rather than sedentary (0–4999 steps) or low active (5000 -9999 steps). More to the point was the fact that I still weighed a kilo less, even though I had had a calory high lunch.

So now the plan is to see if, temperature and weather permitting, I can continue to lose a kilo a day. If I can manage that, then that means I will hit my target weight of eighty kilos in about six days.

Apart from the weight, I feel so much better for all that physical exertion. My mood is brighter, my physical movement is more fluid and I feel, overall, a great deal stronger.

To this, you can add all the other health benefits such as better memory, cognition, and sleep, more energy, and a reduction in the risk of heart attacks, strokes, cancer, and Type 2 diabetes. In addition, you can enjoy stronger and more enduring muscle and bone conditions. Plus, you can enjoy improvements in cardiovascular fitness, a stronger immune system, improved balance, and coordination, as well as a reduction in stress and tension.

In all, this will have an immediate effect on things like your blood pressure, the oxygenation of your blood, and a reduction of the plaque that may be blocking your arteries.

Ultimately, what this all comes down to is a much better quality of life and a much longer life span. And yet another benefit is the financial one. These days it costs a lot of money to be ill, and not everybody has got health insurance.

So, I am now looking forward to finally getting rid of my none alcohol 'beer gut', and a much better life all around as I pedal myself all the way to fitness.

health
1

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.