Lifehack logo

How to Fully Understand the Tracking of an Order Placed Online and Where it’s At Now

The journey of the traveling flip flops

By Debbie CentenoPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by David Ortega

As a consumer, I stay up to date with tracking the purchases I make online. I am pretty sure many of you do as well since it is the way of shopping during the COVID-19 pandemic. However, I never analyzed how the shipping system works until a recent order I placed early in August. This is what I learned about the shipping process.

I found a great deal on Vionic flip flops online which I did not want to let pass since it is quite difficult to find this brand locally. So, I placed an order for two pairs online. Those who know the brand can attest they are comfortable, excellent quality and a bit expensive. The flip flops were on sale, therefore; I purchased two pairs on August 8, 2020. Today is September 4, 2020 and I have not received my order. I have a confirmation and tracking number and been following its itinerary. Here is what I noticed thus far.

According to the tracking information, somewhere around the world, my flip flop's label was created on August 16, 2020, at 9:02 a.m. By 10:05 a.m. that same day, Lake Forest, California, received the electronic shipping information. My flip flops, which I will call Vioflop, must be very excited to embark on this journey from who knows where to my home.

Later that same day, Vioflop arrived in Shanghai, China's hub export. They had a few hours of rest before departing Shanghai on August 17, 2020. It appears Vioflop were tired because they were handed to the airline supplier the next day, August 18, in which they departed to the country of their destination, United States (USA).

It was a long journey for Vioflop. They finally arrived on August 21 to U.S. Chicago O'Hare Airport. Even though they released Vioflop from import customs on that same day, they were inducted into the Pitney Bowes network in Carol Stream, Illinois three days later-on August 24. Plenty of time for Vioflop to recoup from yet another long, exhausting trip. Vioflop was then picked up and departed to the Pitney Bowes facility in Illinois arriving on August 25th. From the Pitney Bowes facility, Vioflop was transported to Greenwood, Indiana. Amazingly and given their trajectory, they arrived on the same day.

Vioflop had another day of rest before departing Greenwood, Indiana on their way to Atlanta, Georgia. They arrived on August 26th. Now here is where it gets confusing. Upon arrival in Atlanta, Georgia, they were miraculously picked up and processed by an agent in Clermont, Florida-which is the flip flops' last destination. However, on that same day and only two hours after, they appeared to be back in Atlanta, Georgia. Or did my flip flops get confused from all the traveling and thought they were in Florida already? Jetlag can have an effect on you – and probably on the slippers too.

That was not the case. It seemed they were still in Georgia because on August 27th they were finally in transit to Clermont, Florida via a USPS delivery unit. Unfortunately for me, they have been in that truck ever since. I have not heard from them since. I worry if, by the time they arrive, the soles of the flip flops are worn out from so much walking. At this rate, I am assuming Vioflop walked its way here. I don't know. But someday, hopefully soon, I will find out.

What has your experience been like? Do you have a purchase delay in delivery to share with us?

Update: As of today, Saturday, September 5, 2020, my flip flops have arrived! They are nice and hot and in perfect conditions – no worn out soles.

how to
1

About the Creator

Debbie Centeno

Debbie is an active spiritualist and medium. Yoga and meditation are part of her daily routines. She loves to travel and enjoys writing. Her blogs are Debbie’s Reflection (www.debbiesreflection.com) and Traveler Wows (www.travelerwows.com).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.