Lifehack logo

How To Build Self-Confidence

Simple steps

By Robin William HansenPublished 11 months ago 6 min read
Like

Have you ever felt hesitant to accomplish something that you thought should have been simple to do? You were so angry because, with just one word, everything may have been different, right?

That's because you didn't have the courage to speak up at that moment. You feared the repercussions of being rejected. This is a typical occurrence, and I can speak boldly because I've experienced several similar circumstances. But is it really the case? Absolutely not, I say!

What makes me say this? It's because if you avoid doing the things that need to be done, nothing ever gets done. Do it! Right away! Do it!

I'm aware that you haven't decided to change your opinion yet. Did you know that there is a 99% probability you won't act if you don't act now? It is serious, I assure you.

Have you come to a realization that learning something is much simpler than unlearning it?

Search for it on Google to verify for yourself.

I'd rather tell you things that will increase your confidence, of which I did to become confident, so that it stimulates you to overcome your shyness rather than to give you abstract ideas.

There are many different ways to increase confidence, but these are some of the ways that I gradually increased mine. I'm not flawless, I still have a lot to learn and I want to get better.

As I've already stated, I'll only offer advice that has actually helped me, not some general rule. I think that by being open and honest about the things that have made a difference for me and sharing them with you, we may eventually build a society of true, self-assured people who will transform the world. Okay, let's get started.

Here are five easy measures you may take to start developing your self-confidence. They are simple, but they are incredibly crucial.

1. Make eye contact during conversation

2. Make your room organized

3. Learn how to prepare meals

4. Learn to smile

5. Workout frequently

Make Eye Contact During Conversation

Photo by Picha

Making eye contact is not a simple task. It necessitates focus and concentration. You may tell you are starting to build confidence when you can keep eye contact when talking to someone or listening to them talk. This will benefit you in the long run.

I avoided eye contact immediately on my first try. It was strange and constricted in a way.

But I persisted. I then turned my attention to people walking by and made eye contact with them until they broke it.

I trained in that way. It took me over a year and numerous attempts to get proficient in this. After that, establishing eye contact became simpler.

Sometimes though, I find myself staring at the other person's lips during the conversation. It's okay if that occurs. simply be able to sustain it for a while.

Start by talking to someone close to you, such as your mother, siblings, or any other friend you feel comfortable listening to or speaking to.

Even having a staring contest with them can be entertaining.

Doesn't that sound fun?

Make Your Room Organized

Photo by Eric Mclean

This is really important because it shows who you are on the inside. It's possible that you missed this, but it's quite significant. It is an important factor in deciding whether you have what it takes to develop confidence.

Your sense of order is increased when you organize your space. In a well-organized environment, finding items is simpler and quicker.

Additionally, it shows that you take time for yourself. When you do a task independently, you also feel accomplished.

I constantly attempt to make my environment as functional as possible by organizing it. I developed my folding skills so that my belongings would fit comfortably in my travel bag.

Every time I take something out of my luggage to put on, I feel satisfied.

By doing this, you can start your day off on a good note. Try it!

Learn How To Prepare Meals

Photo by Dapur Melody

Yes, you heard me. I actually mean yor have to learn about cooking. This is also a very good way to increase self-confidence! Why, you ask?

Let me remind you that there is an art to cooking. You need to pay attention to how foodstuffs transform into something tasty and enjoyable.

When you can prepare a meal so expertly, you feel in charge of the entire process. Now tell me, wouldn't you be assured if someone asked you to prepare a cuisine you are quite familiar with? Or maybe prepare food for a friend who paid you a visit ? If they exclaim, "Wow, this looks delicious!" it makes you feel satisfied, right? You believe that what you accomplished was worthwhile.

If you can make them taste anything extraordinary, people will undoubtedly adore you for your cooking abilities.

I can still recall making fish stew once. The neighbors' kids came from their playground to see who was heating up such aromatic stew. As they congratulated me on how flavorful the stew was, I felt pretty pleased. It was a really amazing experience.

On the other hand, it is quite bad if you consistently burn the food you cook. That’ll even make you lose confidence very quickly. You’d not want this to happen!

Learn To Smile

Photo by Marcelo Chagas

Every opportunity to smile should be taken. Do you know why? Because a smile has a wonderful way of making your day brighter.

Genuine smiles help us release stress, which is beneficial for both our physical and emotional wellbeing. Now, think back to a time when you truly laughed; how did it make you feel? good, yes?

Yes, the bullying of your body and nerves decreased. Why not smile and get on with it. Frowning is quite unpleasant, you know? You feel better at least when you smile, don't you think?

When you work with others and smile, you usually have a favorable influence on them.

I frequently smile since it's excellent for my face and wellbeing. Only those who have life can smile and be happy, isn't it?

Workout Frequently

Photo by Keiji Yoshiki

Building your confidence through exercise is an excellent idea. You can either sign up at a gym or just begin at home. Whatever option you select is acceptable.

3 times minimum every week. The most you can do is five times a week, and you can do more if you feel five isn't enough. It's entirely up to you, but maintain consistency.

The best method to project confidence is to workout and gain mastery over your body. You'll develop a confident self-image as well as a strong body and mind via the process.

I exercise at home using different varieties of pushups, squats, and core exercises. This has helped me stay in good shape.

In comparison to earlier, I feel more assured everytime I wear any shirt. I used to avoid wearing certain shirts because I always thought they didn't look well on me. All those ideas were altered after I began working out at home. My muscles began to grow and appear firm, which altered how I felt about myself.

Exercise is highly advised because it is quite beneficial. I regularly do it every morning and I really enjoy it.

Conclusion

It's critical to adhere to these measures and feel the changes to how your confidence grow. Send me a message using the Contact Us page and let me know how it went for you.

how tohealth
Like

About the Creator

Robin William Hansen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.