Lifehack logo

How to Become a Morning Person

Tips and Tricks

By Isobel BPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

We have all been there, staying up until the wee hours of morning, sleeping 10+ hours only to wake up in the afternoon and repeat. Being a student I have had to change my sleep schedule constantly to suit my work-school schedule. I have had to be both a morning and a night person. When I first started university I had many night classes, hardly any morning classes, and I found I could do my best work at night. I did not have a job so I stayed up and slept when needed. Second year comes around and I have an 8:30 AM class and often start work at 7:00 AM on other days. I have also adopted cats who enjoy waking me up early for food. I am going to tell you how I did it, how I became a morning person... and it won't include the BS that is "exercising in the morning" because not everyone wants to wake up to work out.

1. Wake yourself up earlier and earlier...

Don't start yourself off by waking up at 6 AM. Slowly set alarms earlier and earlier. If you usually wake up at 1, try setting your alarm for 12:30 or 12. It is a slow process, but it is the best way to make it work.

2. Start going to sleep earlier...

If you are planning on waking up 30 minutes earlier, go to sleep 30 minutes earlier. If you REALLy can't fall asleep, try white noise machines, melatonin pills, or a nice hot bath. Herbal teas, a bath, and soft music can do wonders to help you fall asleep. So can milk.

3. Wake yourself up with your favourite drink...

Drinking and/or eating your favourite food in the morning can give you a reason to want to wake up and make waking up earlier more enjoyable. If you really like mochas, drink one when you wake up. You won't be as upset that you are up earlier.

4 a. Shower or bath...

Take a nice shower, warm or cold, the water will wake you up. Same with a bath. It will leave you refreshed and feeling relaxed and clean. Even if you wash your hair at night or do not wash your hair everyday you can wash your body off. Scrub your body, exfoliate, shave. Make your skin feel nice and soft. I swear it will help. You will feel ready to start the day.

4 b. Full face...

Give yourself a full face wash. Wash it, exfoliate it—only once a week, two times a week maximum. Apply a toner, a lotion, and sunscreen. If you are feeling extra crazy, apply facial serums and learn how to give yourself a facial. It will make you feel refreshed and ready for the day ahead.

5. Put on nice clothes...

I know you will want to put on comfy clothes, but don't. Putting on nice clothing will make you not want to go to bed. It will make you feel confident and happy, and make you want to go out and DO THINGS.

6. Do your hair and/or makeup...

Making yourself feel like you look good will give you the confidence boost you need to go out and see people.

7. Do something you enjoy...

Go to the gym, go to yoga, go swimming, paint, write, binge watch Netflix. Do something you enjoy to make the morning worth it and fun. Personally, I watch Netflix and play with my cats. Do what makes you happy and you won't hate the mornings as much.

8. Caffeine, caffeine, caffeine!

Just do it. Drink it. Eat it. I don't care. It is needed.

9. Realize it is not going to be instantaneous.

This is going to take time. You are completely changing your sleep schedule. It will take a while but you can do it. If you do not have the time... I am sorry... I can't help you.

GOODLUCK! I hope you reach your goal of being a morning person.

how to
1

About the Creator

Isobel B

I am a member of the Queer* community. I am pansexual and in a relationship with a FTM transgender. I am an artist and a Sociology major.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.