Lifehack logo

How Much Did I Earn in My First Month of Blogging (April 2024)

Join me as I share my experiences and earnings from my first month of blogging, including tips, challenges, and the excitement of being a new blogger.

By Alparslan Selçuk DevelioğluPublished 3 days ago 5 min read
Image by author

Hello everyone!

Even though I am a new blogger, the interest and support I’ve seen in a short time excited me a lot. I want to share with you how I spent my first month, how these small steps at the beginning turned into big dreams, and how I can grow as a creative writer on this platform.

Thank you so much to everyone who read, clapped, and commented on my writings. 💖

Starting to Write

My writing adventure began with my striking(!), confident, and overly self-assured articles in my high school newspaper. I’ll never forget, one of my first articles was called “Turks and Turkish Folk Songs.” In fact, my 16-year-old school newspapers are still around. Let me attach a closer copy of the photo you see on the cover:

Image by author

As you can see, I started my article with these beautiful lines from Bedri Rahmi Eyüboğlu and mentioned that if we do not take care of our folk songs, both the bağlama and our folk songs could disappear. You can also see my other article titled "The Meaning and Importance of Our National Anthem" in the background for the next issue. Even though the topics were a bit cliché, they were liked at the time; it was said that I had a unique, distinctive style.

Fueled by this, I said, "I'll write in university too." Ankara Yıldırım Beyazıt University opened in 2011, and I was one of its first students. Therefore, the school had no newspaper, magazine, or publication. It was probably published later, but as far as I remember, I didn't join because I didn't like the club that published it or the friends who wrote in the magazine. Even though I couldn't write much until today, I always loved writing; it was always in the back of my mind.

I said, "I need to get back to writing somehow," but because I researched and worked hard, writing took a lot of my time. Asking AI and pasting answers wasn't my thing. Writing, especially writing with depth and knowledge, wasn't easy.

In 2018, I started writing about mangas ⸺ Japanese comics ⸺ in a comic magazine called "Professor," published by the Comic Book Readers Association, edited and graphically designed by my father-in-law Halil Gürdal Gürak. And what did I see: My sincere, conversational style; my ability to inform without boring; and my experienced comments and interpretations were very much liked.

The Start of My Blogging Journey

My blogging journey started in January 2024 when I came across an article. According to what was mentioned in this article, some blogging platforms paid you a certain amount based on how much your articles were read, clapped, and commented on! After reading other articles and watching other videos, I found out that it was still possible to earn money and that original content always had a place in this field. Original content? Leave it to me, this is a job for Superman! I immediately opened Turkish and English accounts.

After opening the account, my first job was to transfer the articles I had written on the blog pages of some companies I had worked for before, which had been neglected after I left, some of whose screenshots had broken ⸺ already worked hard, researched, and some had gotten good "clicks" on Google ⸺ by learning SEO and giving canonical links. (Since the articles were written on other platforms on the internet, you need to give canonical links when transferring them to your blog site.) I reviewed and rewrote some of these old articles; I even did the task I described again because the screenshots in this article were broken.

To get paid from some blog platforms, you need to join the Partner program first, which requires you to pay $50 upfront annually. I didn't open the partnership immediately. (I wish I had; my most-read article was my first article.) My goal was to publish my articles under a publication to reach more people and readers faster. I didn't know exactly how to do this yet.

After getting to know one of the most read and crowded Turkish content publications, Türkiye Yayını, everything became easier. This way, I met a very large and experienced group of writers. If you haven't read them yet, I can list the articles I shared in my first months and earned money from in this article:

None of my articles earned less than $1. The fact that none of my articles fell below $1 in my first month is a very valuable and nice development for both me and the bloggers. I didn't cheat, as the first tricks that came to my mind were probably done years ago, and the platform owners had long closed those paths. I told myself, "Write your article honestly, wait to be discovered, even if it doesn't flow, it will trickle; it's passive income," and I wrote.

I spend many evenings writing, I write at every opportunity, I write even while traveling on the Hacıosman subway, whatever I do, I think about writing; I don't know if it's worth it. Writing has become a new and enjoyable hobby for me.

Yes, now you are really starting to wonder. You are saying, "Okay, we get it, you worked so hard, but what did you earn, my friend?" Don't be too curious; I earned a very small, even funny amount. When you read it, you'll say, "Was it for this?" but no, it wasn't for that. I don't do my profession of software development for money either. I really enjoy software development, writing, and running. I write and run because they make me feel good, challenge me, and add things to my life that I didn't know before. Some of my hobbies bring money, some take it away. There's nothing to do, bless their hearts.

Image by the author

Image by the author

ImPhoto by Uludağ Ultra trail organizationage by the author

I have many hobbies, but only one that brings money, and it's new. Let's get to the point, here you go:

$10

Of course, it can't be without taxes; the money comes bleeding along the way. I think only $5.5–6 will be deposited into my account.

If you are thinking, "Oh, that's nice! It will increase over time as you write more, it's passive income. I'll open an account and start writing too," writing is really not something that can be done for money. You need to think after putting in effort and spending time; you need to write after reading more. Writing is one thing, organizing the article to rank high on Google is another, finding an interesting title is another, shortening that title and adjusting the visible title and description is another, setting the SEO title description is another, choosing the article tags is another, and reaching readers is another difficulty.

If you are thinking, "Oh well, there are many AI applications that produce text now. I'll ask, ask, and paste," I have to put a stop to that thought too. As of May 2024, it has been announced that AI-supported writings will not be paid, and they will not be included in the paywall.

If you have this passion inside you, you don't have to join the partner program immediately. Open your account in a few minutes and start writing. Whether you are a blogger or not, opening an account on blog platforms and clapping for the articles you like is free. Let's follow each other, read, comment, clap… Let's read more, write more, and earn more together.

healthhow to

About the Creator

Alparslan Selçuk Develioğlu

8+ years experienced Android Dev. Freshly a Software Team Leader. Colorful, confident personality, a fan of science fiction and fantasy works. An Ultratrail runner who runs in races 60+ kms

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alparslan Selçuk DevelioğluWritten by Alparslan Selçuk Develioğlu

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.