Lifehack logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

How I blew my back pain

Mostly, people don't like pain and rain

By Jamil AshrafPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Like
How I blew my back pain
Photo by Sasun Bughdaryan on Unsplash

Usually, pain is not a thing to remember as a good nostalgia. Whenever we remember pain that relates to a genuine story behind it. I also have a story related to pain that bothered me from time to time.

Once I have been suffering from back pain for the last six months. It was not firm that I felt it all the time and everywhere whereas it was intermittent. Usually, I had severe back pain whether once or twice a month. Whenever I feel back pain it starts in the morning and goes in severe condition till afternoon.

I am not too old and it is due to the aging factor. By the way, I am in my late thirties. Initially, I did not take it seriously but later on, it bothered me too much. I kept thinking why is this happening to me? What are the reasons? How could I get rid of it? I could not find any clue at that time.

I went to the homeopathic doctor nearby and let him know about the condition. I also told him, “I go to the gym regularly to maintain my fitness.” He told me, “Don’t go to the gym for two weeks at least.” I did not negate his suggestion because I had a fear of back pain so I left the gym for two weeks.

I was fine for two weeks and then again I felt the back pain. Specifically, I sweat too much at the time of exercise, at the time of playing cricket at the time of walking so I thought it might be possible it was due to sweating. I was trying to find the root cause analysis because I wanted to eradicate this issue.

I went to another doctor and discussed all the matters. He replied me that it was only muscle pain, nothing to worry about. Take these pills you would be fine. I took those pills as prescribed by him so I was fine for two weeks. Once again I had to face the music.

Now I took it seriously because of back pain I could not even walk. If I took lunch in pain time, it would be harsh enough to walk. There used to be a lot of stiffness with a full stomach but I kept thinking the reason. It could be possible I sweated at the time of sleeping as a consequence wet clothes are creating a problem for me because wet clothes pasted with my body for a longer time on the bed.

I started to search for reasons for back pain on Google and YouTube. I watched one video after another and later on, I got a genuine reason for back pain. I carried out these search jobs at the office so I went home and looked at things closely that I got from YouTube. It made sense. I discussed this matter with my wife and mother and they seconded my opinion.

As a matter of fact, I had been using an old mattress that had lost its firmness and it sagged from the center of the mattress that I could not notice. As a mattress gets older, it sags from the center as a consequence you could experience severe ache and back pain. An old mattress plays an important role in aches and back pain and it is detrimental to our health.

This is the genuine reason for my back pain and I found it interesting so I thought why should not I share it with you guys? It may be possible it would be useful for someone who has been suffering from the same pain.

housesocial mediahow tohealthCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Jamil Ashraf

I am a Manager Electrical. I have worked at different multinational companies as an Electrical Engineer. I started to write technical articles on LinkedIn about my field. I also write on the Medium platform. By the way, I write part time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.