Lifehack logo

How Do You Write an Apology Letter for a Mistake?

Apology Letter Samples & Templates

By Heena NaazPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
How Do You Write an Apology Letter for a Mistake?
Photo by Álvaro Serrano on Unsplash

If you made any mistake, it is natural to make up for it. It is considered better to know how to apologize properly if you end up making a mistake. It is known to be a very vital skill needed for both career and life. However, it is important to create a precise record of the incident and your answer to it while writing the apology letter.

Why is it tough to write a letter of apology?

Apologizing is sometimes very difficult for the majority of people. Because many times most of the people do not like to accept their mistakes because they think it makes their character look bad. However, not apologizing or making a weak apology is considered even worse.

Some reasons because of which it might be difficult for one to apologize:

You think that mistakes turn you into a bad/evil person. This is one of the main reasons for which many people hesitate to apologize.

You become defensive and have a hard time accepting your mistake.

You end up stressing on the fact that you have to shoulder all the responsibility or receive lots of accusations.

There are several apology letter samples available that one can check to understand the proper way to write the letter of apology.

The Components of a Proper Apology Letter

If you want to write a proper letter of apology, you can follow the steps given below to assist you. These steps work well if you are apologizing for a personal error or while writing a letter of apology on behalf of the business or team.

It is much better to say “I’m sorry” rather than “I’m sorry but ...”

Take responsibility for your mistake. It is crucial to let the wronged individual know that you are eager to make up for your actions.

Explain what occurred. It is also vital for the wronged individual to know that you have an accurate understanding of the incident along with your mistake.

You should have a strategy to fix or correct your mistakes.

Apology Letter Sample

Below are the samples that you can refer to while writing accurate letters of apology.

Sample 1

Apologize For Defective LED Television

Sub: Apology letter

Dear Mr./Ms./Mrs. {Name of the Recipient}

Thank you for letting us know about your defected LED television set. We are extremely sorry that the product {Order no.} that you acquired on {Specific Date} turned out to be defective. We guarantee to analyze the product thoroughly and take the required measures.

The new LED television set has already been shipped to you after precisely checking its quality. We will work on improving our methods further and ensure for this not to occur again.

We have also provided you with a 40% coupon off from your following purchase in hopes of recompensing for the problem caused.

Yours Sincerely,

{Your Name}

Sample 2

Apologize for arriving late to pick

Dear Noura.

I truly apologize for arriving late to pick you from the airport yesterday evening. I have no explanations for making you wait longer and speculating when your ride will arrive.

I always try not to let people down when they depend on me. From next time, I will make sure to use the alerts from mobile phones to reach at the exact time.

I humbly request for your forgiveness; I hope this mistake will not hold you back from relying on me shortly. I am always eager to be of help.

All the best,

{Your Name}

Sample 3

Apology Letter to Teacher for Misbehavior

From,

Your name_______

Address________

To,

Teacher name________

School name_________

Address___________

Sub: Apology Letter to Teacher for Misbehavior

Dear Sir/Madam,

I apologize sincerely for my misbehavior during the Maths lecture. I argued with you during the class. I was not in a good mood I quarreled with someone and had a heated argument.

I understand that this is not an excuse for my misbehavior. I know my misbehavior caused a lot of agony and embarrassment to you in front of entire class. I also agree that my misbehavior will set a wrong example in front of my colleagues.

I assure you that I will never again repeat my mistake and accept any punishment you feel I deserve for my misbehavior.

Once again I apologize for my mistakes please forgive me and I promise I will not repeat my mistake again.

Thanking you,

Yours Sincerely

Name of the student_______

Signature__________

how to
1

About the Creator

Heena Naaz

I am founder of Guest Blogging site Techpuzz.com and also working for HRhelp Board which is a worldwide online Human Resource knowledge portal.

Mail id: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.