Lifehack logo

Hoverboarding

hoverboarding aka one wheeling

By travis burnsPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
hoverboarding aka one wheeling

Hoverboarding.. aka one wheeling is the modern sport of electric skateboard known as the One Wheel, EUC and there are several other boards available for purchase on the current market of 2020. It uses a single wheel which you learn how to balance upon. If you can imagine that this is dangerous, I could certainly agree, so at this point in the culture, for your own health, I don't advocate it to any other person in the world myself, but I do ride a one wheel myself almost on a daily basis, if not a One Wheel, a EUC then skateboard or electric scooter, or I walk or I just don't go anywhere. I'm basically stuck at home when I don't have a working hoverboard, currently I have two dead boards and one working one wheel and a pile of skateboards. But I have no desire to sell my boards only fix and modify what I work on.

I use my board for transportation in Colorado, and being in Colorado I've dealt with many factors many of which aren't very positive due to the fact that your hoverboard is very vulnerable to electrical death, If you ride in the basics of natural elements such, as I have done so in the past. While it may seem oh that's dumb, of course your board died in the winter snow and the spring time rain storms. Yes I have killed several mobile electronic vehicles due to rain or simply making these small vehicles go the distance. I have hovered repeatedly across Denver, Aurora and many other places in Colorado over the past 3 years, since I ordered my first one wheel plus on e-bay. Overall I have traveled across Colorado and have logged off and on somewhere above 20,000+ miles.

I am not rich, I'm broke, I have no money, but the money I do have, I have invested in personal technology which benefits me when I need a ride, so I got one, and its not some huge clunky truck which is expensive to park anywhere. It is some clunky hoverboard and luckily I got one that works for now, but I sure hate it when it doesn't or I have to find a replacement part for the machine such as a BMS (Battery Management System), replacement battery pack or anything else which could certainly be needed.

I recently purchased an EUC by Inmotion, a large tire, onewheeled device, which is basically a robot that transports you and talks to your phone while you hover across town. And boy do people think its cool, and there are people which also hate me for it. Let me just say that some people don't like seeing me riding a hoverboard vehicle, esspecially a diffent and cool looking unicycle machine. I was recently chased through a Denver neighborhood for simply using my hoverboard food delivery. So guy thought it would be okay to try and chase me down on my board with his Toyota truck, but I am pretty good at skating and the guy couldn't stand up to me and I out paced him through the neighborhood, despite the fact that he tried to catch up with me 3 different times in his truck. It's not that I couldn't have just stayed there and fought him, but too me thats the weak thing to do, plus I don't want to go to jail for beating up an old guy which is probably 20ish years older than myself. I admit I'm an old guy at the age of 43, here I am riding around a hoverboard, maybe I should grow up already.. Oh hell no, Never. I'd rather die first, and I mean that. Why should I drive a car at all. I think they are not very cost effective vehicles and the burdeon of owning one isn't very cost effective, for me at least. my wife wife loves her car, but you won't see me buying one anytime soon.

I grew up around motorcycles and riding skateboards, while most of you guys rode the school bus, I was out skating from one side of hell to the other, and when I say that I mean it. I've skated all over Colorado, Washington state, Seattle, Los Angeles, San Diego, San Francisico, The Dakotas, Minneapolis, Chicago, Washington D.C., NYC, and I've skated in Japan and Australia and Hawaii. I know I haven't been everywhere but the places I have been I've continuously skateboarded while I was there and now I try to hover to all the places i go to, why.. because I hate cars, trucks and gasoline run engines. I prefer electric vehicles and I am constantly looking to the universe for alternate ways of traveling. I have not been to Europe, South America or Africa yet. I would certainly love to bring electronic vehicles and ride those vehicles in those places, if ever given the opportunity to do so.

Currently I ride a One Wheel XR which has a limited range of 12-20 miles and that's due to speed usage, elevation, distance, time ect. You go fast you eat up the battery, go slow you save it.

Basically I'm a washed up Marty McFly, but that's okay with me. I mean there is a global pandemic going on and everyone is dying, why should I conform as and old person. I'm not getting any younger, I'm 43 years old and I dread thinking I'll be 50 soon. I suppose I should just dig myself a grave in my backyard. Til' I'm too old too hover, I'll keep on hovering. My goal overall is to avoid all large vehicles, never get hit by any vehicle again and that's hard to do, because there are way to many people which would love to kill me, murder me and see me die for simply riding such a vehicle, especially city workers and cops, they hate me the most. So they all can go to hell, that's for sure. They all just want to make dollar out of my downfall, literally. I can't allow them the opportunity to do so.

Maybe one day, I'll be able to hover right off this planet and into space, never to be seen again. I can dream can't I? I love hoverboarding, I don't care if you think it's legal or illegal, I'll do it anyways.

tech
Like

About the Creator

travis burns

Travis Burns is a DJ, Musician, Artist, Production Technician and Stage Manger for large events and concerts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.