Lifehack logo

Halloween Vibes to DIY for

First installment of a spooky seasonal series

By Leslie WritesPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - October 2023
44

I am writing this series as a countdown to Halloween. It's my favorite holiday. Halloween has it all! Hayrides. Scary movies. Haunted houses. Trick or treat. Pumpkin spice and everything nice. If I can manage to pull it off, I'll be writing something with a spooky spin for one vocal community each week in October.

First, I decided to explore a few Halloween craft projects that capture the spirit of the season. But, I'm going to be honest here, these projects look like a lot of work. Actually accomplishing any of it is probably just wishful thinking.

I suppose I could get all jacked up on pumpkin spice lattes and paint the town orange, but who has the energy, amirite? Maybe I should just leave it to the DIY pros and domestic divas.

1. Ghosted

I saw someone ‘spookify’ a thrift store painting online and I have been low key obsessed with the idea for a while. Here you take a mass produced reprint of something benign like a farm house, then you add a few ghosts, pumpkins, bats, etc.

Unfortunately, my local thrift store has had nothing but nursery room giraffe paintings and framed inspirational quotes for the past few weeks.

2. Hannibal’s Hor d'oeuvres

The charcuterie tray has been having a moment. Or maybe the moment has passed. I don’t know. I like assorted meats and cheeses.

Some brilliant party host thought, What if we ‘spookified’ this food?” It’s just prosciutto wrapped around a plastic skull, but look at this thing!

Flayed Human Skull Antipasto Platter by Ty Rannosaurus on Instructables.co

3. Arachnophobia

You know what’s scarier than stretching a few fake spiderwebs over your shrubs? A mummified corpse dangling from a web on your front porch. Add a giant spider perched menacingly on the rooftop and you’re gonna freak out all the kiddos (and a few adults).

This project comes from munchkinsplanet.com. It is part of a collection of outdoor Halloween spectacles. This one was my favorite, but the article also shows you how to put together a hauntingly realistic Halloween lawn corpse out of plastic bottles, trash bags, and duct tape.

Photo from munchkinsplanet.com

The spider could use some help, but the cocooned victim sells it for me. I’m sure it’s spookier in the dark. Bonus points if those red eyes are sporting reflective red paint! Smaller spiders could also get the point across if you don’t want to risk your life climbing on the roof.

4. In the (Haunted) House!

I love a good haunted house, but I've never thought of wearing one. Apparently haunted house costumes are a thing. I mean, it’s basically an elaborately decorated cardboard box, but the possibilities are endless. Some of these are downright adorable. A serious contender for any homemade costume contest, although it’s not a very practical design. The kid might need some help holding their candy.

Photo from costume-works.co

5. For the Birds

Forget bats. This Halloween we’re talking about birds! From Poe’s The Raven to Hitchcock’s The Birds, winged beasts have been associated with death in popular culture for a long time. Heck, they don’t call it a ‘murder’ of crows for nothing!

On the other hand, birds are so smart. Some can even talk, solve puzzles, remember you, and even bring you shiny little presents like buttons and bottle caps.

So do you like birds or do they creep you out? Either way, this raven wreath is perfect for Halloween.

*These ‘ravens’ (the kind you get at a craft store) are made of styrofoam covered with dyed turkey feathers.

Image from jennuineblog.com

🖤 Mysterious - What are they meeting to discuss? Could this have been an email?

🖤 Elegant - No frills, just birds!

🖤 Monochromatic - Black goes with everything.

*Personally, I’d skip the glitter, but follow your own heart!

listpop culturehow tohousecrafts
44

About the Creator

Leslie Writes

Another struggling millennial. Writing is my creative outlet and stress reliever.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • R N Sharma2 months ago

    Nice one!

  • Sorry I missed this, I am just the worst but this si a great story

  • Justine Crowley6 months ago

    Great article. Congratulations on top story. The holiday vibes are still alive and kicking. Hopefully your Halloween went according to plan.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉

  • Nice and yes, Birds creep me out/😁👻👀

  • Aiden Bliski6 months ago

    Great tips, thanks! :)

  • Test7 months ago

    Very relatable! Well written!

  • Haha cool stuff! I might try the painting ghosts one!

  • Shouting Money7 months ago

    Wow, amazing ideas.

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    "Could this have been an email?" I snorted! 😁🤣

  • StoryholicFinds7 months ago

    Love it ❤️

  • Kristen Balyeat7 months ago

    Such fun ideas! The first is totally my favorite! Thanks for sharing, Leslie! Congrats on top story! 💫

  • Wow, so many great ideas. How fun, can't wait to see what you come up with. Congrats on the top story

  • Sani Abdullahi 7 months ago

    Wow 😲😲😲 nice content, keep Up higher.

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    That Hannibal plate 🤮 I wouldn’t be able to cope! Lol. 😅🤣 ..a great TV show though. Some fun ideas Leslie. Congrats on your top story! 😊👍

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    Cute ideas! Great work!

  • Now, that puts me in the right mood for the season! Great ideas. So fun!

  • Matthias Thomas 7 months ago

    Great work

  • Kageno Hoshino7 months ago

    Spooky!!

  • Luther7 months ago

    Nice work🤗 I hope my stories get to the top one day 😪💔

  • JBaz7 months ago

    October is my favourite month. I love the painting idea, add a ghost, brilliant. Congratulations

  • Hope Martin7 months ago

    Halloween is my favorite too! I'm so excited! Love this article!

  • Kelsey Clarey7 months ago

    These are such great ideas. Happy Halloween month!

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Great story, Leslie! Halloween and haunted houses are my thing! I think every one knows by now Pam and I met at a haunted house. There are some fun ideas here. When I was young, one of our most fun "props" was a ghost made from an oatmeal box with a face cut out and a flashlight inside, draped with a sheet, then suspended from a rope it would slide down across the yard and another rope to haul it back. We'd take turns running it all night.

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Fun stuff!!! The spider cocoon corpse gives me an idea. Halloween is also my favorite Holiday. We deck the house out every year. Thanks for sharing this and I loved your little shout out to birds. “Heck, they don’t call it a murder of crows for nothing” 😅. Congrats, Leslie. 🕷👻

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.