Lifehack logo

Frugal living

Walmart saves me every time

By Shays_creations homemade cardsPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
I designed this to load on a shirt and a bag.

Frugal living is the name of the game. I have been poor just about 53 years. I forgot to mention I turned 53 in Sept. How do you like that? I have been living with one struggle after another to be honest. But the struggle of life is real to me. I learned long ago that stressing the little things won't change anything.

A few days ago I drove over an hour to Walmart. I took a chance one resetting my GPS and jumped on the parkway. I made it but good grief was I scared not passing a gas station for some time. I finally reached super Walmart with a big fat smile on my face. I had to take a break for a few mins to ease my mind. I also needed to rest my watery eyes. I was over the moon excited to have made that long drive.

You might be wondering how anyone would take that ride to Walmart. Well, wonder no more because Shays_creations will be making that drive again soon. I live on Social Security which is roughly $861 a month. it is January 10th and my account is $0.00 I live on the mercy of a hustle and grind. You got that right I am no stranger to surveys or online coupons.

I am not at all shame to share a tip or two on frugal ways of living your best life. If I shop where I live which is in Westchester county. I can't eat for the month unless I really give up on just about all meat option. You want a package of chicken wings. Pull out $23 you can have it. I can't deny I love chicken wings more than anything.

I never found $23 chicken wings here in my area worth buying without driving. I forgot to mention I can step outside my front door to see many stores. I don't have to walk more than three corners to reach the shopping center. Do I even recall the last time I shopped on it? Nope not a chance. They are way over the margin for retail. The truth of the matter is they have no options. The insurance here and rents are outstanding.

The other day at Walmart I nearly lost it. The amount of savings little by little was unreal. Now let me say the last time I went the corn was .50 a can. The time just this week it was .58 a can. Oh, let that not be an issue. $1.25 is the best I can find here around my home. I bet you know I have about 6 cases. I love beyond anything some corn. Don't get my mother started you will laugh a lot.

I am not a huge fan of cereal but when I do want a box or 6 I like the prices at this store. Now there is another location but let us stay on our grind with Walmart. I was able to get some of those natural juices which are mango flavored, pina colada and oh no your not going to pass up the huge bottle either.

I spend about $20 in gas driving to walmart. I need two shopping carts to get all my goods. Here in my town I can carry about three bags home and that is a crying out loud shame. I have been poor far too long to whine and cry. But I can promise you I won't ever give up my frugal living. This morning I made walmart version of spam and you know a lady was happy.

I bought 6 cans because at $1.98 I would be a straight fool not to. I can survive a lot longer getting crafty with that. It is how the hustle and grind is.

food
1

About the Creator

Shays_creations homemade cards

I am a mover and a shaker in life. I am a homebody with love. I am a helper of many but I need to work on more selfcare. I am addicted to greeting cards so shays_creations is my life and soul. Times are so hard I am just thankful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.