Lifehack logo

From Tacky to Crafty

Turning my tin-can into home again.

By Not ImportantPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like

In all the years I have been renting, this would be my first time moving into a trailer park. Originally, I thought living in one would be rather tacky. However, after settling in, I found it can be surprisingly homey.

My husband and I have been living here about 2 years now. We are the youngest couple in the park, as there are mostly elder folks that occupy the residency. Everyone keeps to themselves and goes to bed relatively early, so it's pretty quiet.

We are located directly across from a tiny creek, lined with 5 Willow trees. 500 sq. ft. stretching out, giving the trailer a spacious feel. With 2 entrances, a covered patio, and a decent size shed, I call this home.

I have spent very little money at nearby stores, to give the outside a warm welcoming vibe. Living down the road from a Walmart and Dollar Tree is very useful, and convenient.

I spruced up my patio with a cute family owl mat, which I got for $15 at Walmart. Owning several exotic pets, I thought the family of owls kind of fit perfectly. Hanging on the patio pillars, are mini RV party lights, also at Walmart for $15. With a BBQ, and outdoor table adjacent to each other, giving the patio more character.

When entering my house, the first room you enter has been transformed from a "wet" room to a "pet" room. Currently occupying the pet room I have; a hedgehog, a Spotted Leopard Gecko, and 2 ferrets. My recently adopted puppy, however, free roams and usually tries to trip you on your way in.

Much like the walls, the floors are quite thin. The built-in carpet has no thickness, leaving your feet feeling like you are walking on concrete. I have remedied this issue with rugs I purchased from Walmart. Depending on the size you're looking for will vary on the price of course. Generally, you don't have to wait for Walmart to have a sale, as they are known for their reduced prices in the first place.

So I bought 3 rugs for $12 each, that I later cut up to custom fit my uniquely shaped trailer. It keeps the original carpet safe from normal wear and tear, especially if you are a pet owner. Plus, who doesn't like more comfort on their feet when walking barefoot?

Whenever the holidays come around I find myself at the nearest Dollar Tree. They have the best holiday supplies and decorations, and only for a $1. I mean you can't beat those prices. From picture frames to faux flowers, it's all about personalizing your home with style.

Cooking with a gas operated stove has been a first for me. Unfortunately, our oven is not a standard size. For example this year I was not able to fit our 24-pound turkey inside, so I improvised and learned from reading online one could cook a turkey on the BBQ! So I figured why not? I was down to try something new. We BBQ the turkey, to my surprise it was delicious and a memorable Thanksgiving.

The hardest part adjusting to living in a trailer has definitely been the bathroom. As a woman, we like to have a lot of space. Especially for all of our accessories; Hair brushes, makeup, lotions, curling irons, etc. Downsizing my beauty kit has been very challenging, but not impossible. I have found it's all about prioritizing what you need and learning to organize the stuff you can't live without.

Another downfall to having a trailer bathroom is the weekly chemical treatment process. If you're fortunate enough like me you don't have to deal with it, as I have a kind enough husband to take on that chore. Unless you are a plumber, it does take time to get used to. There isn't a whole lot I can do with my tiny bathroom as far as decorating it, but I have decked it out with my favorite football team's colors. Go Seahawks!

While my trailer wasn't blessed to have a bathtub to relax in, I found a way to recreate a similar experience, even in a pocket-sized shower. Respecting my husband's fear of house fires due to candles, I found those fake plastic tea lights to give the same ambient feeling.

Whether you decide to use real tea light candles or the fake ones, they can both be located at the dollar store. Place them where ever you desire. I usually put a couple on my counter top, or on the top lip of my shower. Every bathroom is designed differently, so placing them will be a personal call. Just make sure if they are real candles, to place them in a safe spot.

Before I completely jump in the shower, I play some music and turn out the lights. I always liked some James Bay or Chris Stapleton but to each their own. If you're like me and enjoy the occasional glass of wine or a beer then why not? Taking away some of that end-of-the-day-stress with a drink can help too.

Without a bathtub, relaxing in a small bathroom can be tricky, but with a few insightful tips, like the ones I have mentioned, relaxing can be done anywhere!

My bedroom has been another room I have struggled to decorate, due to limited space. I have a giant king sized mattress and box spring that literally take up the entire bedroom floor. I have a double mirrored closet, and windows that wrap around the rest of the room. The only wall space I have is the ceiling. So I found a way to put my ceiling to use best I could.

Do you remember those glow in the dark stars that stick to the wall? I have had them in every home I have lived. So I thought I would put them on my bedroom ceiling. Sadly it's getting harder to find them at stores, but I have had good luck at Fred Meyers in the toy section.

Besides the family photos hanging up, I am still adding things to make the house more charming, and welcoming. There is always something to be done around the house with its general size, it falls victim to dirt more often than I'd like. I actually don't mind the constant house cleaning, I feel it keeps me active and staying busy is important.

I feel grateful that I don't have a modernized home. Having to go to the laundromat every two weeks, and washing dishes by hand several times a day can seem unpleasant to most people. With the world moving so fast and all the high tech gadgets, I feel more grounded being independent.

Maybe I am old fashioned that way. At the end of a long day, I am not ashamed to call my tin can, my home. Impressing even myself with how I managed to turn something tacky, quite crafty.

crafts
Like

About the Creator

Not Important

Just Stories for the grandkids....

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.