Lifehack logo

From Short To Long

How I Made A Plan To Succeed In Life And Achieved My Dreams Over The Course Of Time

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 8 months ago 5 min read
Like
Where Does Your Plan Begin?-Belgium-(Photo by Freddie's Lost Treasures)

I've always been someone who likes to plan ahead. When I was younger, I would make lists of things I wanted to accomplish and set goals for myself. As I got older, those goals became more complex and long-term. But no matter what stage of life I was in, I always had a plan.

One of the first things I did was live abroad. I wanted to experience different cultures and learn new things. So, after college, I went to Mexico. It was an incredible experience that taught me so much about myself and the world around me.

When I returned home, I knew that I wanted to continue exploring new places. And, years after traveling to 125+ countries, I felt that I needed a new sense of self. That's when I decided to move to Cambodia. It was a big decision, but it turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life. Living in Cambodia taught me so much about resilience, perseverance, and the importance of community.

While living in Cambodia, I also focused on developing my educational prowess. I took classes in Khmer language and culture, as well as courses on sustainable living and permaculture. These classes helped me become more self-sufficient and gave me the tools I needed to live off-grid.

Living off-grid was something that had always interested me and it was part of a long-term plan. Of course, not everything went according to my original plan. Some things happened by accident and were meant to be - like meeting and marrying my wife. At that point I re-orchestrated my plan and included my wife in my vision. My vision then became our vision. Then, as if out of nowhere, we saw what looked to be a dream opportunity for us and purchased plots of land. Then, when my wife and I purchased various plots of land in the Cambodian jungle, we knew that we wanted to build our own sustainable home. We spent months researching different building techniques and materials before finally settling on a design that would work for us. It was paradise.

But, when things didn't go as planned, as they sometimes do in life, we always found a way to adapt and keep moving forward. Over time, our plans changed. We decided that we wanted to start a family (through unofficial adoption), so we built accordingly, with some expansion in our minds. We also started a small farm where we grew our own food and raised various small farm animals.

Looking back on everything now, it's amazing to see how far we've come. From living in the concrete jungle of Phnom Penh to living off-grid in Cambodia - it's been quite a journey. But through it all, one thing has remained constant: our commitment to making plans and setting goals.

If there's one thing that I've learned from all of this, it's that making plans is essential if you want to succeed in life. But those plans don't have to be set in stone - they can always be changed or updated as needed.

So if you're looking to make a plan for your own life, start by thinking about your short-term goals. What do you want to accomplish in the next year? Once you have those goals in mind, start thinking about your medium-term goals - what do you want to accomplish in the next five years? And finally, think about your long-term goals - what do you want your life to look like ten years from now?

Remember that your plans can always be changed or updated as needed. But by keeping them up-to-date and relevant in your life, you'll be well on your way to achieving your dreams.

As we continued to live off-grid in Cambodia, we faced new challenges and obstacles. But we always found a way to overcome them. We learned how to grow our own food and raise animals, how to build our own homes and structures, and how to live sustainably.

One of the biggest challenges we faced was the lack of access to modern amenities. We didn't have electricity or running water, so we had to find alternative ways to meet our needs, but that was the purpose in the first place, part of our overall plan. We installed solar panels and rainwater catchment systems, which helped us become more self-sufficient.

Living off-grid also taught us the importance of community. We relied on our neighbors for support and help when we needed it. And in turn, we helped them with their own projects and needs. Over time, our plans continued to evolve. We started a small business selling our excess produce at local markets in Sen Monorom in Mondulkiri Province, Cambodia. We also began teaching occasional classes on sustainable living and permaculture, albeit in a very rudimentary way, one in which most people could understand and apply in their own lives.

Looking back on everything now, I'm amazed at how much we've accomplished. From the chaotic congestion of Phnom Penh to living off-grid in the remote jungles of Cambodia - it's been quite a journey. But through it all, one thing has remained constant: our commitment to making plans and setting goals.

If there's one thing that I hope you take away from this story, it's that anything is possible if you're willing to work hard and make a plan. Whether you want to live off-grid in the jungle or start your own business, it all starts with a plan.

So, don't be afraid to dream big and set ambitious goals for yourself. And remember - those plans can always be changed or updated as needed. But by keeping them up-to-date and relevant in your life, you'll be well on your way to achieving your dreams.

۞۞۞۞۞

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today.

You now have the opportunity to buy me a cup of coffee or a hot, fresh pizza by clicking on FREDDIE'S LOST TREASURES below. Our monies collected on Vocal.media help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

I have plenty of upcoming articles on various topics, please check them out. Also, if you would be so kind, subscribe, give us a heart/like and positive comment. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges on Vocal are greatly appreciated. Help those who are less fortunate and make a difference!

pop culturehow tohealth
Like

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.