Lifehack logo

Finding peace through artistic expression

Choosing peace as a lifelong journey

By Tiffany RileyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

peace

/pēs/

noun: peace; noun: the peace

1. freedom from disturbance; tranquility.

"you can while away an hour or two in peace and seclusion."

2.

a state or period in which there is no war or a war has ended.

"the Straits were to be open to warships in time of peace."

There was an old saying I remember reading typically, " those who seek peace endured great suffering." living in a state of peace is a choice, similar to brushing your teeth. For example, you can choose to brush your teeth, or you can believe that your teeth don't need a brushing this day. However, I like to say peace is a choice and a lifelong journey.

My name is Chantel, and I'll tell you about when I encountered great pain and found peace after choosing to be accountable in my life. Ten years ago, I thought I found the love of my life. This love was a love that felt so bright if I could remember adequately; it's often like meeting a stranger in a coffee shop realizing you have so much in common and could be long-lost best friends. This love ignites warmth in my heart and joy in my eyes; red flags were not something I knew anything about; they were typically like that saying,'' there are things unknown unknowns. meaning there are things we do not know we don't know." I made a painful choice; I choose to take accountability for my actions and learned that the phrase red flags is similar to peace. For example, there are levels of red flags. Level one in red flags would be noticing how a person interacts with you; if you are dating, do they bring the conversation to their past about the nasty situations with their ex? Level two do they verbally abuse you by belittling you? Level three, have you found secret flirty conversations with them and someone you've never met? It's safe to say we can compare peace for the particular reason there are levels to peace and many action steps we must take to deepen our awareness of the specific emotion. Level one are we forgiving ourselves? Level two, are we building positive self-talk? Level three do we accept that we are living out our destiny? Now, we must heal the subconscious mind by allowing our external life experience to mirror what's invested in our subconscious mind. Each phrase has its lane; however, each term depending on what we allow, can cause a bad fall or enhance a beautiful outcome.

I've found healing is a peaceful state I've never known; It takes time; of course, it is frustrating. It's not easy. We deal with toxic colleagues, family members, and patterns that we must break free. Surprisingly, I began to paint; now I know what you're thinking. I bet she's a fantastic artist similar to those we see on social media that's not getting enough credit. Oddly I'm not. I like to paint colors; sometimes it's not perfect; I mess up, I keep painting. Something I paint in silence and cry through the devastation of pain endured that I've allowed. I call through each brushstroke for the little girl in me, feeling betrayed and unprotected. It wasn't until it dawned on me I said to myself, wait, an artistic expression is a form of healing, a form of building inner peace and inner connection with your inner self. After this, I searched on youtube, I grew inspired to create something new, encouraged to challenge myself, and found many people teaching me how to paint some artsy painting in silence. I discovered peace from the little things, such as hearing the birds chirp, hearing my neighbors daughter and son laugh outside as they play. I listened to the cultured music from the mariachi played by the families as they celebrate two doors down. I found peace now, where I relieved myself from the same replay mental projections from an experienced that led me to feel grief and despair that had me bound for years.

Saying all of what's said takes me back to my statement where I suggested peace is a lifelong journey. I found something that I could love again as I loved myself again; I challenged myself to create art and enjoyed the silence; I even fell in love with lofi chill hip hop; as a result, I choose peace in everything.

health
1

About the Creator

Tiffany Riley

I am a woman who overcame adversity. today as of April 16, 2021, I vow to release and speak with the intention to inspire those to choose to heal who fit my description. Welcome.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.