Lifehack logo

Enjoying a simple meal

Life is what I love

By Shays_creations homemade cardsPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
Corned beef with rice and corn.

It's how you make it that makes life what it is. A meal every day is rewarding for me. Steaks are not bad a few times a year. The truth of the matter is I can't cook one properly. Have I tried to do that? Yes, I sure have tried. I am just glad I can eat something.

I often shop at a location called Aldi in the Bronx. A long time ago, I was reading online about this location. I often dreamed they would open to my local area. One day something caught my attention while on Google. I learned that day Aldi was in a nearby location. I began going there to shop. I often brought along my friend Cha Cha.

The first time I stepped into Aldi it was magical. I saw all kinds of goodies at the entrance of the store. Much of which I could not enjoy due to fibromyalgia. I still was overjoyed to see it. I am a super fan of the Mexican cheese. I have three on hand today. I still pick up the slim jims from time to time.

I love beyond words the canned corn beef. I know deep in my soul it is Libby's brand. I have to stock at least 3 when I am grabbing canned food. By the way, I love fresh corned Beef as well. My shopping budget can't afford that. I am grateful for the options I do have. I often pair the corned beef with white rice and corn. By the way, do you know anyone who can eat corn every single day? My mom does.

In my opinion, ketchup and butter are a perfect combination. In addition, I make sure to add some seasoning. I love food that wakes my mouth instantly. I don't think anyone really enjoys bland food. While going about my daily life. I learned to be frugal and enjoy the pleasure of my blessings. With that comes a few canned goods and a grateful heart. I won't lie I would like a rib of a steak right now. Those are not in my budget at this time. No whining is needed a blessing is still a blessing.

The next time you are at Aldi stop over to the canned goods section. Check out the corned beef even for one night. You won't be upset if you tried it. I love how different people enjoy different dishes. I am always learning from online posters. I am very pleased when they learn something from me. It is a give-and-take world to enjoy.

One thing I might offer you is that Walmart corn and Aldi corn are both amazing. I think you would love either when possible. Corn is so versatile for just about any meal. I have recently cut down on eating it. I have gout and learned it was required. I don't want to give it up. I learned to eat differently.

On occasion when you have free time. Look around the store for a few items you never tried. Make sure you check the heat level. You don't want to burn a hole in your mouth unless it is desired. Some spices are beyond my reach. I just don't have the ability to eat and suffer at the same time.

I am not a professional writer. I am very sorry if my errors are horrible. I am learning as I go. I am pleased to be able to come here to express my thoughts without judgment. I love writing so I am taking a little time to enjoy my life.

The video is my corned beef meal.

shays_creations

food
Like

About the Creator

Shays_creations homemade cards

I am a mover and a shaker in life. I am a homebody with love. I am a helper of many but I need to work on more selfcare. I am addicted to greeting cards so shays_creations is my life and soul. Times are so hard I am just thankful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.