Lifehack logo

Don't Go All Magi on Me

just be thoughtful

By Kim StetzPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Secrets to the Universe

I’m a nostalgic person. This holiday season could use a gallon-sized portion of Uncle Jack’s egg-nog, if you know what I mean. Many families will be celebrating the holidays apart from one another, as well as grieving losses. Topped with a license to be your therapist, the nostalgic person in me thought she would share her holiday picks to inspire some warm memories and hopefully alleviate some anxiety around gift-giving. For some, the holiday season comes bearing the gift of stress. This year, the season is decorated with a nasty Rona bow thrown into an already wintery mix of unknowns. When giving a present, please, first and foremost, remember that it’s the thoughtfulness that counts (even if the gift is whack) in the art of giving. If we take a stroll way back to 1905 when O. Henry published "The Gift of the Magi," the story goes, husband and wife, Jim and Della, were pretty broke. She cut off her hair to buy him a chain for his watch, and he sold his watch to buy her combs for her gorgeous locks. So thoughtful, but really, that sucks!

My wish for you this holiday season is to find moments in time to enjoy whatever it is you are doing. Sing those silly carols! Write those holiday cards with spiked hot chocolate. Give yourself permission to laugh, eat gingerbread cookies, and be filled with love while deciding how you want to participate in the holidays this year.

I've put together a "near and dear" to my heart selection of gifts that you may find useful now or might want to stash away for an occasion later when you are looking for that special something. In full transparency, I no longer participate in giving traditionally wrapped gifts during the holiday season. I have created rituals for myself and loved ones that keep the season light, tasty, and affordable. And mostly, I treat myself. If I buy something for you, most likely I will get it for me, too, because it's that good! Without further adieu, here are my top five gift ideas curated for Vocal readers.

1) Give (or get) an astrology reading with Rev. Lawrence Grecco. I had no idea what to expect when I hired Lawrence to do my chart. We set up a time, the reading took about an hour, and I walked away with a booklet of my chart with a decent understanding of what I was looking at due to Lawrence's astrology expertise. We had a blast! What stood out for me was learning that my moon was unaspected in Scorpio. Lawrence translated that as "You are a pit of desire. You can put that on your business card!" For an astrological experience with Lawrence, you can reach out via email at [email protected]. His fee for the service is $175.

Hollywood & Maine luxury candles

2) Who doesn't want an amazingly scented, luxurious candle created by Hollywood costume designer of CBS's Mom and Bob ❤️ Abishola, Karla Stevens! Karla is as talented as they come when it comes to glamour, class, and beautifying her home and yours. She lives in Maine with her husband when the shows are on hiatus, and Hollywood when it's showtime. The candles are deliciously priced at $48. The packaging and design bring warm and cozy times for our bi-coastal folks longing to be with one another. These candles might bridge that gap! Hollywood & Maine offers 10% off orders $75 or more. Hollywood & Maine candles

"Zanzibar Seaweed Company" Copyright Jason P. Howe

3) If you are looking to be inspired and want to share prints from a world-class ex-war photographer, Jason P. Howe is your man. Jason reached out to me early in December, letting me know about his latest project and fundraising efforts. After taking many years off from picking up the camera professionally and relocating to the mountains in Spain, Jason is excited to sink his teeth into a new project called 'CAMPO.' He is offering signed prints from his archives in two paper sizes: A4 Priced at $100/£75/€85 and A3 at $200/£150/€170 + shipping. Larger sizes available on request. Payments are accepted via PayPal or BACS. You can email him with any questions/order at [email protected]. Do check out his website!

Cassablanca ring

4) I discovered Isabel Marant's jewelry a few years ago when shopping in SOHO with my sister. I especially love her rings. I chose the Casablanca ring in ecru for this gift guide - it comes in black and celadon, too. This ring is one size fits all, making for a great gift without getting all "ringish" unless you want to. For $75, you've found a keeper or a giver. Up to you! Isabel Marant Casablanca ring

Karakoram Chunky Alpaca Beanie in Purple

5) Ok, if you haven't heard of No. 6 Store, it's never too late! This boutique store in NOLITA got it's lift-off on a reality TV show ages ago. No. 6 Store is known for their shearling clogs. They also have outstanding accessories you really can't find anywhere else, making this store a go-to for gift giving. When I'm looking for a super cute beanie, this is my place (and I usually can't stop myself from updating my shearling clogs, too!) Beanies are priced at $105 - $155.

list
3

About the Creator

Kim Stetz

Kim is a creative New Yorker educated with decades of mindful yoga practice, teaching, and street savvy. She holds an LMSW, lives, works and plays in NYC and the PNW.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.