Lifehack logo

Do This On Your Outdoor Walks For Better Mental Health

It's more powerful than you think

By Christie SausaPublished 5 months ago 5 min read
Like
One of my favorite views - Mirror Lake in Lake Placid, NY last summer.

It’s been a stressful few years for all of us.

But one of my favorite ways to decompress is always spending time in nature.

However, I also found that I would often use the time outside to stew, worry, and generally not enjoy my surroundings.

I took myself outside, but I took my worries with me.

So while the walking would eventually do its thing and I would feel a bit more serene afterward, I still thought I didn’t get the full benefits of spending time in nature.

I was too wrapped up in my own head to enjoy the beauty around me.

Or, I would listen to music or podcasts to try to drown out the overthinking and the worrying, which only partially worked.

I could feel myself staying disconnected, just walking through the beautiful places surrounding me without really engaging with or appreciating them.

So I changed my focus.

Rather than using the time (exclusively, anyway) to focus on what was wrong, how bad I felt, or how worried I was about the future, I started focusing on what was right in front of me.

I did that by setting the goal to take photos. I wanted to find at least one beautiful perspective every day and document it.

Then I wanted to share it.

I’m certainly not an expert photographer, but I’ve been told I have a good eye. I take photos on my iPhone as much for my own stress release as for others.

Sure, it’s nice to get validation from people on social media, but it’s also felt like a powerful form of self-care.

I realized that I felt better when I went out in nature with a plan rather than just walking and stewing without noticing the beauty around me.

There are a few reasons why I think combining a traditional self-care activity like walking in nature with another therapeutic activity worked for me.

1. Taking photographs forced me to focus on the beauty around me, rather than obsessing about the past or worrying about the future.

When I knew that I had to keep my eyes peeled, I started to notice the things that normally escaped my notice. Seeking out unique perspectives allowed me to slow down and truly appreciate the beauty around me.

Mirror Lake this past fall.

A walk past familiar landmarks was no longer mundane; instead, I could see each scene anew.

Mirror Lake this fall

Perhaps this post about photography as therapy, says it best :

The entire process of shooting — from choosing a subject matter to discovering new angles to manipulating light — requires absolute focus. This very process of observing, by nature, is a meditative task that draws you into a peaceful state.

The best part? This state of mind is not only good for our mental health; it’s also often where we do our best creative work. In this sense, photography isn’t just like mindfulness, it is mindfulness.

2. I was focused on helping others, not just myself

Our Olympic Speed Skating Oval in front of the High School, framed by fiery clouds.

It’s been said that the best way to feel better is to serve others. For me, photography is such a pursuit.

By sharing images on social media, I can connect with people and share my love of my home Lake Placid, New York, a place that so many others love as well.

I have received many kind comments over the years, and no matter what else is going on in my life, it reassures me that the smallest actions can have positive consequences and make other people’s lives better in some small way. That, in turn, makes me feel purposeful. It’s a win-win!

3. I was creating

A wintery trail last season

I consider myself a “creative”, and anything that requires creativity, whether writing, skating, or photography makes me feel better.

It’s very difficult to feel bad when you are actively creating something.

When I’m in the flow, I feel so much more alive.

Combining photography with exercise (in my case, walking, biking, or hiking) increases the production of feel-good hormones like dopamine and endorphins, which makes it even more rewarding!

4. It’s fun!

Trees this fall

Looking back through my photo archives, I realized that I didn’t really get deeply interested in photography until around 2019. I took photos before that, of course, but I was always too busy with my other endeavors to spend much time shooting “for fun”. Any photographs I took were usually action shots to accompany my articles, and it was often stressful to capture the right angle and clarity of the image for publication.

But when COVID-19 hit and all my other hobbies went away, I started spending more time experimenting with my iPhone camera and apps like Instagram and TikTok.

I took at least one photo a day during the early days of COVID, and even as things started to return to normal, I kept up the hobby. I found I just enjoyed it.

Photography was relaxing, fulfilling, and more importantly, FUN.

Without other creative outlets like skating and writing, photography stepped in. And I realized that there are more ways to create than previously thought.

Never underestimate the importance of fun. If you come across an activity or hobby that you enjoy, whether you are the best at it or not, it’s worth pursuing.

Having fun is an important part of maintaining mental health, especially if you have anxiety, depression, or other internalizing disorders.

Sometimes, the best thing you can do for yourself is to get out of your head.

I get it, by the way. If you are upset or going through difficult circumstances, it’s difficult to even get outside sometimes. It’s easier to stay in bed or zone out in front of the TV (been there).

If you have lost some familiar comforts or joys in your life, it’s tempting to draw those failures and challenges up around you and cling to them, believing that’s all there is and all there ever will be.

But that’s not true.

There is still beauty to be found, even when life isn’t going your way.

There are still beautiful vibrant trees, filled with colorful leaves.

There is still a watercolor sky sunset.

There is still a quiet path that leads somewhere peaceful.

There is still a smoothly rippling body of water.

There is still the sun, the moon, and the breath of the wind coming through an open window.

There is still life.

And for me, the best way to remind myself of that was to get outside and take a few photos. 😃

how tophotographyhealth
Like

About the Creator

Christie Sausa

I skate, write, and take photos.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.