Lifehack logo

Do Portable Washing Machines Really Work?

Simplify Your Laundry Routine with this Compact Machine

By Sonam KohliPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1

It's really hard to find an apartment in Vancouver that comes with a washer and dryer. And if you do find one, it's probably super expensive or far from public transportation. Some people are okay with paying more or having a longer commute for this, but many people aren't. So, they either go to laundromats or pay someone to wash their clothes for them. But there's another option: a portable washing machine.

Personally, I didn't even know portable washing machines existed. I've lived in Vancouver for about four years now, so I've gotten used to laundry being a hassle and costly. But deep down, I always wished I could do laundry in my own apartment. And now, thanks to the Giantex portable washing machine, I can.

This machine is small enough to fit in my tiny bathroom and doesn't take up much space to store. It's also super easy to use. I was worried it would be difficult to set up, but it was actually really simple. It only took me five minutes to plug it in, attach it to the faucet, and start cleaning my clothes.

Since I started using the Giantex washer, my life has gotten so much better. I don't have to hand-wash my delicate clothes anymore. Now I can just put them in the washer on the gentle cycle and clean everything at once. Plus, I'm saving a lot of money. I used to go to the cleaners almost every other week because I ran out of workout clothes so quickly. Now I can wash them at home and save money. Because the service I used to use cost me about $20 every time, the portable washing machine will pay for itself in just a few months.

If you're thinking about getting a portable washing machine of your own, here's everything you need to know about this one...

What do I need to run it?

All you need is a faucet and an electrical outlet. The machine plugs into the wall and connects to your faucet with a short hose. It's really simple. The only catch is that the faucet adapter that comes with it might not fit your sink. You might need to buy a set of adapters to find one that fits.

Does it leak?

It leaks a little bit. But not enough to cause a big mess. Just be careful not to turn the faucet off while the machine is running.

I was worried about water leaking everywhere when I turned on the faucet, but it didn't happen at first. However, after a few loads, I noticed a small leak from the machine's bottom. I think it was because I turned off the faucet mid-wash.

One complaint I have is that the manual doesn't say when to turn the faucet on or off. Based on my experience, you should turn it on after connecting the hose, before starting the machine. Don't turn it off while the machine is running, even if it seems like it has enough water. It needs water for the rinse cycle, and turning it off might cause an error. So, keep the faucet on while the machine is in use, alright?

How do you empty it?

There's a long hose at the bottom of the machine with a hooked end that you can put on the edge of your sink. The water will flow through this hose into your sink. Honestly, I was worried that my sink might not be big enough for all the water, or that the machine would drain too quickly and cause the sink to overflow. But that didn't happen.

I wasn't even in the bathroom the first time the machine drained into the sink. I was surprised when I returned to find that the laundry was done, and there wasn't any water spilled anywhere. It was nice to know that I could leave the machine running without worrying about coming back to a mess.

Does it actually get clothes clean?

Yes! My clothes came out smelling great and feeling soft. Plus, they were clean.

How much can it hold?

It can hold up to 5.5 Pounds of laundry, so you can only wash a few items at a time. But it's still better than hand-washing them one at a time.

Don't I need a dryer?

Nope! The laundry comes out almost dry because of the spin cycle. You just need to hang them up for a few hours to finish drying.

Is it heavy?

It's about 11lbs, so it's not too heavy. And it has wheels to make it easier to move around.

If you're still not sure, you can check out some other portable washing machines too.

how to
1

About the Creator

Sonam Kohli

Your Passport to Unforgettable Adventures: Join the Journey with Travel and Diary

Visit: https://travelanddiary.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.