Lifehack logo

Dear nephew

Dear nephew

By Derek OutlawPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like

Legend has it that in ancient times, in a city in western China, there was a poor family specializing in sewing. The male master was named Mustafa. He and his wife were dependent on each other, and the father had an only son named Aladdin.

Aladdin was of a playful nature. He was idle and never learned well. He was a real little naughty.

The old couple wanted their son to learn to sew so that he could inherit his father's business and earn a living from it. For they were not well off, and had no money to spare for Aladdin's education or apprenticeship, much less for his business.

But Aladdin was fond of fun, and he never wanted to stay in his shop sewing. He always went out to play with the poor, naughty children in the area, and never came home. Aladdin was used to this, and persuasion and whipping did not work. He did not listen to his parents, to learn sewing in order to inherit his father's business, but also refused to learn the skills of business and trading, so day by day. His parents thought his future was a real worry.

Aladdin showed the magician where his family lived.

"Dear nephew," said the magician, "hurry home, give this money to your mother, and say hello to her for me. Tell her that you have seen me, and that I will come to see her tomorrow."

For the first time since he had parted from the magician, Aladdin broke with the custom of going home before dinner time, and before he had reached the door, he cried in a loud voice: "Mother, I have good news for you. I met my uncle today who has been wandering for many years. And he told me to ask after you, and to call on you some day."

"My son! I think you may have developed a bad habit of lying again, otherwise how can you get an uncle?"

"Mother, what did you say? Just now in the street, I did meet an old man about my father's age, who recognized me from the crowd and said he was my father's brother. Indeed, he not only embraced and kissed me, but sent me to greet you with tears in his eyes."

"My son! You used to be an uncle, as far as I know, but he is long dead. How can another uncle come out?"

Aladdin listened to his mother's words, but he did not know why.

The magician made it through the night after parting with Aladdin. Early the next morning he hurried out to look for Aladdin. He was on tenterhooks as long as he could not see the child. He looked about him, and seeing that he was again with the naughty boys, he hastened forward, drew him to him, embraced him affectionately, and then handed him two gold pieces, saying:

"Run home and tell your mother that I'm coming to dinner, but before you do, show me the route you take to your house."

"Yes, come with me." Aladdin gladly accepted, and took the magician home, showing him as he went, until they parted at the door of the house.

Aladdin ran home and handed the two gold coins to his mother. "Mom," he said excitedly, "my uncle will come to my house for dinner today. Here is the money he will give you to cook."

Aladdin's mother was very happy. She went to the market and bought all kinds of food. She borrowed cups and bowls from her neighbors. When the dinner was ready, she said to Aladdin, 'If your uncle doesn't know where we live, you'd better go out and wait for him. When you see him, bring him back.'

"All right! I'll go."

Aladdin had heard his mother's words, and was about to go out to receive a visitor when he heard a knock at the door. He hurried out and opened the door. There stood the magician and another servant with wine and fruit and cakes. Aladdin greeted them, beaming.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.