Lifehack logo

Can't travel? Consider this!

Movies and shows that take you where you want to go

By Wendy SandersPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4
Can't travel? Consider this!
Photo by Andrew Ridley on Unsplash

Does your wanderlust have you climbing the walls? Very few of us have had the freedom to travel over the last year. Road trips are great, but sometimes they just aren't what you're in the mood for. Wrangling people into a car and spending hours driving to some remote location can be fun, but it often involves more hassle and less time to really relax while you take in your surroundings. There is just something magical about getting on a jet plane and leaving your daily ins and outs as far behind as you're willing to travel. For me, that would be out of the country, to an entirely new place, with gorgeous scenery and a rich cultural background .

Over the last year, I have found that movies and TV show's filmed in beautiful locations have blunted my aching desire to get the heck out of here. What's better, is that I can travel all over the world within the span of a weekend without experiencing an agonizing case of jet lag. Just by watching some of my favorite movies and television shows, I can take my mind on a luxurious vacation without leaving home. If you like to travel, but are lacking the funds, time and freedom to leave home sweet home, I would like to invite you on a cinematic journey to some of the world's most beautiful places.

Ireland has been at the top of my list for a while now. To make matters more challenging, I am engaged to a man from Belfast who cannot shut up about how beautiful his homeland is. Since we can't make it across the pond just yet, I went in search of some of the most scenic movies filmed on location on the Emerald Isle. There are many to choose from, but I wanted to highlight the movie Leap Year.

This movie checks all my boxes. Not only does it provide a glimpse of the gorgeous, Irish countryside and some insight into Irish culture, but it's a rom-com to boot. I am a sucker for a good (or cheese encrusted) love story. Also, last year was a leap year, and guess what? I proposed to my boyfriend on his birthday. It wasn't February 29th, but what does it matter? He loves telling his friends that his American girlfriend got down on one knee for him, ring and all, on a leap year to propose. (true story 9/9/2020). If you've never been to Ireland, or have but are missing the rolling, green hills of the Emerald Isle, I highly recommend this laugh of a film. Other notorious movies filmed in Ireland include, The Princess Bride, Michael Collins, and PS I Love You (grab a box of tissues)

If an Italian vacation along the Amalfi Coast, or a week in Rome is more up up your alley, my best movie recommendation would be Under The Tuscan Sun. Not only do I love every actor in this movie, but this film shows you so much of what Italy has to offer. Some of the scenes pull you in so much so that you feel as if you are standing right there smelling the salty sea air. The book is also amazing, but the movie shows you all the beauty in a way a book cannot. I have been lucky enough to visit some of the locations in this movie, and I always put it on when I'm feeling a bit nostalgic for Italian food or the infamous zest for life in Italian culture.

Aside from the breathtaking shots of Italy's finest vistas, I just feel like I'm in the scene. Again, it's another romantic comedy. I live for these types of movies. Also, there is an interesting plot twist, which I absolutely adore. I won't be the one to spoil it for you. This movie is almost as good as visiting Italy in real life.... almost.

If a pristine Island paradise is more your speed, might I suggest The Beach? The cast is full of gorgeous people as well as gorgeous, tropical beaches. The plot is a little more action packed than a romantic comedy, although it is ultimately a love story in the end. What can I say? I'm a lover of love stories... and Leonardo Di Caprrio isn't hard on the eyes either. This movie takes place in Thai Land. The Beach portrays South Eastern Asia's culture and displays its idealic beauty wonderfully. Plus, it is full of adventure and intrigue to keep many different audiences entertained. Did I mention Leonardo Di Capro?

There are so many great movies that are filmed in tropical paradises. Another favorite of mine is 50 first dates. Adam Sandler isn't everyone's cup of tea, but I think he's hilarious. Plus, this movie is more family friendly and definitely a classic. Who doesn't like Hawaii?

If you're willing to read subtitles and really want to immerse yourself in the unique charm of a true Parisian lifestyle, Amelie is the movie for you. From the language, to the soundtrack and one of a kind cinematography, THIS movie will force you to fall in love with The City Of Light. Paris might be my favorite place I've ever visited. When I am missing travel the most, this is my go-to film. Even if you've never wanted to go to Paris, you will after watching this vibrant gem. It makes my heart sing and puts a smile on my face every time. This is another movie that is produced so well that it actually feels as if you've been transported into the heart of Paris itself.

While travel may still be a risky venture for the time being, you can tame your wanderlust by exploring films that are set in locations you've always dreamed of exploring. You don't even have to leave your couch while you take yourself on a virtual vacation from the comfort of your own home. I know it's not the same as an actual vacation, but it can definitely help your mind escape these troubling times, if only for a few hours.

I hope you've enjoyed my suggestions. What are some of the places you've always wanted to visit? Check out Decider.com and search for movies or shows that have been filmed on location in those areas. Take yourself on a virtual trip. You deserve it!

Now, dear readers, I must bid you adieu. For more interesting reads follow me on twitter @MissWendy1980 . Until next time, be kind to yourself and one another. Happy virtual travels!

travel
4

About the Creator

Wendy Sanders

I was born to create. I am an artist and writer from the central coast of California with a dash of the Deep South and a pinch of the pacific northwest for extra flavor. Follow me @MissWendy1980 on twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.