Lifehack logo

As Winter Goes to Sleep

Retrieving what got lost beneath the snow...

By Susan McAllisterPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
As Winter Goes to Sleep
Photo by Ralph Katieb on Unsplash

While spring is not my favourite season (in fact, it may come in last place), it is my favourite transition of seasons.

Winter starts out every time with fresh snow underfoot. A comfort. The warmth of furnaced rooms, hoar frost. The way cheeks get cold to the touch, but our bodies seem happy, up for the challenge.

Some time later, the layers of snow get hard. The roads form ruts and we get into them. Cold air starts to thieve and winter loses its charm. And then, right on time the sunlight starts to dance a little, you leave your jacket at home, the dog starts to shed a little more..

With these changes, comes relief. Relief for the warmer air, but also for the renewed energy that comes with the increase in daylight hours.

As we shake off the effects of winter, we take inventory. We spring clean. We let go. It is this renewal that I love. Nature moving on, encouraging us to do the same. There must be something instinctive that nudges us. Hearing the ice crack on the lake as it thaws, my muscles let go. Next the cherry blossoms and tulips peek through. My heart skips a beat.

By Mark Tegethoff on Unsplash

Over the winter – this winter in particular – I forgot to have purpose. I shifted into a gear that is simply responsive. The dishes need doing, I do them. The phone is ringing, I answer it. I am less likely to dial out. It’s a classic case of going through the motions.

Going through the motions doesn’t deep clean. It doesn’t create. It may sing along out of habit, but it won’t write its own song. It is low grade, well functioning depression. It comes with a side of overwhelm from all of the non-urgent things that are piling up.

With the first robin, a flicker of awareness arrives. Suddenly, there is space to tackle the pile of miscellaneous junk by the front door. The next thing I know, I am hand washing the floors while Brandi Carlile serenades me through speakers.

With clean floors comes a clean slate. Room to forgive myself for all of the little ways I have let myself down. The overwhelm floats out the open windows, and I re-organize the kitchen cupboards.

By NordWood Themes on Unsplash

When my house is next level clean, I feel like a different person. I fold my clothes and put them away faithfully, with ease. I prep food for the week. I sit in the sunny front room with my morning coffee and read. My mind quiets, I write more. It doesn’t seem so hard.

Studies show that a clean, uncluttered home lowers stress hormones. It is amazing to think of the extent to which our stuff holds us back. I cannot thrive in a messy space. This is a challenge for me because I am not a naturally orderly person. It takes extra effort. Constantly. Here are the ways I (attempt to) keep the messy inner artist in check:

1. I create bottom lines. These are things like; I won’t leave the house without making sure all of the dishes are done. Coming home to clean, uncluttered counters is a non-negotiable.

2. Anytime I spend waiting, I spend tidying. For example, if I put my lunch in the microwave for 3 minutes, I will tidy the kitchen the whole time I wait. If I am filling the sink with dishes, I will put things that don’t belong on the counters away while it fills. It is amazing the difference several mini tidy sessions throughout the day can make.

3. Podcasts! I love podcasts, but do not enjoy sitting idle while listening. Putting on a great podcast or audiobook and deep cleaning a room in my house on a day off is indulgent self-care.

4. I keep a donation box going at all times.

5. I have learned to say no. When someone is getting rid of their old bread maker, no. When my mom finds my old cabbage patch dolls and wants to know if I want them, no. When there is an amazing deal on something I don’t need, no.

6. No new projects until current projects are complete. I am terrible for starting things I don’t finish. I’m not proud of that, but it is true. I have learned to recognize a future unfinished project and leave it at the yard sale.

7. No new hobbies without mastering the ones I have committed to. My subscription to Simply Piano is about to auto-renew and the good intention fairy who ordered it for me seems to think if we renew, year 2 will be our year.

It can feel like the little things won’t make a difference, but they do. I sometimes go from focusing so hard on the small stuff, to forgetting that the small stuff matters too. Somewhere in between, I can see the forest and the trees.

As the sun begins to warm the earth, take pleasure in the simple things. Along with our winter jackets, maybe we could put away our other armour too. Let go of what doesn’t serve us, and enjoy a kinder season.

house

About the Creator

Susan McAllister

Closet writer, branching out.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Susan McAllisterWritten by Susan McAllister

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.