Lifehack logo

Apple Cider Vinegar

Remedy for an Ear Infection

By Lisa BriskeyPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1

Apple Cider Vinegar History

Apple Cider Vinegar with honey was prescribed in 400 BC by the father of medicine, Hippocrates, for coughs, colds, and other ailments. Vinegar has always been used for many reasons, the Romans and the Japanese Samurai used it for an energizing drink and it also helped that it could kill any infectious agents that may be around. It also can speed up the healing process of a wound when you clean it and use it to disinfect it. You can also, use this for your digestion to help with clotting but don't store vinegar in iron, copper, lead, or lead crystal containers because it can kill you.

Why use Apple Cider Vinegar

"Apple Cider Vinegar is a good disinfectant to eliminate any fungal growth that may possibly be aggravating the infected ear since the acidity of the vinegar is toxic to microorganisms that cause ear infections. Ear drops made with Apple cider vinegar can alter the pH of the ear canal creating an environment that is hostile for bacterial and viral growth"(7 Natural Remedies for an Ear Infection, dailynaturalremedies.com).

How to Use the Apple Cider Vinegar Remedy

In a bowl, mix one part water to one part Apple cider vinegar. Use a cotton swab (I used a piece of toilet paper because I didn't have a cotton swab) and soak it in the mixture then place it in your ear like a plug. Keep it in your ear for 5 minutes. Lay down on the opposite side so it can drain for about 5 minutes. Do this as often as you need it. You can also use white vinegar if you don't have Apple cider vinegar.

Interesting Fact

While looking up the history of vinegar, I found this interesting tidbit that I didn't know. John Adams, our 2nd President, drank a glass of apple cider vinegar every day at breakfast. He believed that it would make you live longer.

As you can see, Apple cider vinegar is a great product to have in your household. I am constantly buying it because this is one thing that I am always using. I love vinegar and I try to buy the organic when I am using it for a home remedy because it is better for you. I get the regular kind when I use it for cleaning. In this article, I just wrote about the remedy for an ear infection, it would take many long articles to write about all of its benefits.

The reason for this article is that I have of course had an ear infection, again. I get them all the time and don't like to go to the doctor every time I have them. All they will give me is an antibiotic so I did a little research and found that Apple cider vinegar is good for ear infections. I decided to try it. It has calmed down the pain in my ear and has helped. Of course, if it gets too bad, I will go to the doctor's. But I hope it goes away and soon since I will be on a plane in four days.

I am not saying that this remedy will help or cure everyone but it could help. Just if it persists, go to the doctor's.

how tohealth
1

About the Creator

Lisa Briskey

I love to write, crochet, and sew. I am a grandmother of a two-year-old granddaughter.

Follow me on Medium: https://medium.com/@lisabriskey5

And support me on my Ko-fi: https://ko-fi.com/lisaj or https://ko-fi.com/lisabriskey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.