Lifehack logo

An Eco-Friendlier Laundry Routine in 6 Easy Steps

Laundry Routine!

By Tanvi PuniaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

Over the years, my washing regimen has evolved significantly. I recall the times when I used to dry virtually all of my things and the anger I felt when all of my cotton t-shirts turned out shorter and tighter than they had been. I hate to confess it, but once I washed a wool sweater and it shrunk.

Over the years, I've learned a lot about how to make my washing routine more environmentally friendly in addition to how to take better care of my clothes so they last longer. Therefore, I decided to give my top advice for having a more sustainable washing routine in today's blog.

1. Cold Water Wash

Always washing your stuff on cold is my first piece of advice. Since your machine doesn't have to heat the water, this conserves electricity. Hot water causes considerably higher wear to the fabric over time, thus it also preserves your clothes looking newer for longer.

Usually, I wash everything on cold, including my clothes, sheets, and towels. My cleaning rags are the only thing I occasionally wash on a hot cycle after using them to clean the kitchen and bathrooms, just to make sure they're sterilized. Other than that, it's into the chilly water!

2. Make Use of Waste-Free Detergent

There are several environmentally friendly detergent solutions available, including reusable bottles, handmade formulations, and laundry strips. In my own case, I've moved to a refillable laundry detergent that I can purchase from my neighborhood refill shop I can bring in my own container and fill it with detergent from a big pump bottle at their store, and they charge me by the weight. It works like bulk purchasing.

The good thing about the new detergent I'm using is that its high-efficiency, which means that instead of using the whole amount as I did with our old detergent, I only need to pour in 2 Tbsp. So it will last me a lot longer, and I can finally say goodbye to disposable bottles!

3. Use a Bag that Captures Microplastic

When you wash any garment made of synthetic fabrics, such as nylon, polyester, or acrylic, microplastics will be released into the water. After being flushed down the drain, these microplastics eventually end up contaminating our water and seas. This is bad! The answer? Any apparel made of synthetic fibers should be washed in a microplastic-catching bag.

There are several uses for this bag. First of all, it shields your clothing during washing and lessens fiber shedding overall. The water is then allowed to freely flow in and out while any fibers that do break free are filtered and kept in the bag.

4. Dry on a Hook

Okay, the washing advice is now complete! Next comes drying. The best course of action in this situation is to line dry as much of your clothes as you can. Again, doing so conserves energy and keeps your clothes looking good for longer. Saving money on your energy bill is another advantage of using your dryer less frequently. The only drawbacks I can think of are that it requires more time and space. However, in my opinion, all of the advantages much exceed those.

The only items I continue to dry in the dryer are socks, a few towels, and bedsheets since, in my experience, they tend to feel a little scratchy and crunchy when they are air-dried. I haven't yet discovered a method around that. But before we go on to the next stage, I do have a recommendation for when you do use the dryer.

5. Make Use of Dryer Balls

I now always use a pack of wool dryer balls whenever I do use the dryer. These let the air to circulate correctly and speed up the drying process by keeping your clothes and heavier things apart, which makes your machine perform more effectively. In essence, your machine doesn't have to work as hard or as long to dry your things, which lowers energy usage.

Adding a few drops of essential oils to my dryer balls before each load is another technique I like to use. Then, when my washing is finished, it smells wonderful and new!

6. Less Frequently Wash

My last piece of advice is probably the most crucial: wash your clothes less regularly. Less laundry means using fewer resources, which also means less money spent on energy. Washing is tough on your clothes even if you use cold water and air dry them. So, to keep it looking its best for longer, simply wash it less frequently—only when it's truly dirty.

I personally wash stuff like undergarments, sporting gear, and socks after each usage on a regular basis. I can wear a shirt a few times before feeling the need to wash it. I seldom ever wash any of my thicker knit clothes or even my jeans these days since I don't think they require them.

That concludes my suggestions. You can get laundry cleaners from alternatives to eBay. I hope you found this information interesting. I hope it was still helpful even if you already follow some or all of these processes. I'd also love to learn about any other measures you're taking to have a more environmentally friendly washing routine in the comments section below.

househow to
1

About the Creator

Tanvi Punia

I help Individuals, Coaches, Businesses, Founders, Entrepreneurs, & Marketers to grow in their businesses through Social Media by creating & designing visual content that aligns perfectly with their brand, values, and voice.🤝🏻

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.