Lifehack logo

ADHD Cleaning Tips

From a fellow neurodivergent procrastinating their messy home...

By Ashley LimaPublished 10 months ago 8 min read
4
Image generated by hotpot.ai

My house is a mess. I got back from vacation on Monday, started a new job on Wednesday, and now I have the weekend to reel about whether or not to get my home in order.

It's really difficult for me when faced with a large mess to know where to start. There are dishes overflowing the sink. Last night the dogs went through the trash can and left me a lovely ripped-up surprise all over the living room floor. Speaking of dogs, there is dog hair and dust in every corner of the house (Thanks, Roscoe... Love you, buddy). My kid's toys are dumped all over the place and he leaves a trail of snack crumbs everywhere he goes. On top of it all, our HVAC is broken, and the sweltering heat and humidity make it very easy to not want to do anything at all but sit in the only room with a window AC unit.

Living surrounded by mess leads to feelings of anxiety for me. It doesn't feel nice being surrounded by grime, but it's also hard for me to muster up the energy to do something about it. It's a vicious cycle that leads to small messes turning into days-long tasks.

I really want to tackle this molehill before it turns into that dreaded mountain, but where do I get started? Here are the six things I'm doing to whip my ADHD-riddled butt into cleaning mode and have a nice space to relax in by the end of the day.

1. Remind yourself that you deserve a clean space.

That's right. Positive self-talk.

When my house begins to get messy I usually turn to negative-self talk: "I'm so lazy." "Other people don't have these problems." "Stop being useless and get up." Talking to myself in this way does not make me want to clean, if anything, it spirals me into a depressive episode where I don't feel as though cleaning is worth it. This causes more things to pile on top of each other, making it more difficult than it would have been in the first place.

Instead, I've begun to take a positive approach to the way I tackle cleaning. I acknowledge the mess while simultaneously encouraging myself to clean because I deserve to be comfortable in my home. I remind myself about how good it will feel when I'm all done. How I will be able to sit down, relax, light a nice candle, and enjoy my evening. I find being kinder to myself is more motivating than anything else.

2. Put on music or a show in the background

I don't like headphones so much because I need to be able to hear my kiddo or the dogs at a moment's notice. However, putting on your favorite tunes or a comfort show to keep you company while you work is a great way to stay stimulated while cleaning.

I find music to be better for me because I enjoy dancing and singing along while I clean, but my partner finds it more beneficial to put on a show in the background (yes, he has ADHD too, and yes, it gets messy around here with two dysfunctional humans under one roof).

Put on whatever suits your fancy to make the time fly by, and I promise you, it will.

3. Reward yourself

Cleaning can often feel like punishment, and it might not be enough to remind yourself that you deserve a clean space. Pick something you really like and reward yourself with that activity when you're done with the tasks you set out to do.

For example, I really like video games, but I sometimes put off playing them to focus on more "responsible" tasks. After a day of cleaning, I make sure to set aside an hour to play any game of my choosing.

I try to choose activities that make me happy, no matter how menial they may be. Knowing that when I finish my tasks I have this reward for myself helps me keep my head in the game, and oftentimes, it speeds up the process. I know there's this thing I really want at the end, so might as well get it done instead of lollygag!

4. Gamification.

There are a number of ways to approach this, but today I'll just share one that works well for me.

If there are any nerds around, grab a d20. If you're not a nerd, don't worry, you can use a random number generator online.

First, write a list of 20 chores around the house. Make sure the list consists of things that are easy to do mixed with things that are a little more tedious. Some example tasks could be: Water the plants. Do the dishes. Dust the shelves. Etc. Choose chores that are a priority to you and the functionality of your house.

Tasks should be relatively short and succinct. Don't write down "clean the entire living room" because that in itself can be split up into 20 tasks on its own if you really think about it. Each task should be doable between 5 and 30 minutes. I find splitting them up this way makes them easier for me to retain focus. If you have a task that's become something that will take more than 30 minutes to do, such as the dishes, for example, allow that task to take up more than one number spot and complete it in parts.

After writing down your tasks, roll the dice (or use your random number generator) and do the chore that fate has selected. This allows for you to not have to choose what to prioritize; let the universe do it for you. Keep rolling until you've reached your personal limit. If you're highly motivated by games like myself, the competitive edge of being able to complete everything on the list really helps me get things done in a day.

5. The Five Things Method

This method hails from the mind of KC Davis, a TikToker and mental health professional. Her claim is that every item during chores can be broken down into one of five categories: Dishes, Trash, Laundry, Things Without a Home, and Things With a Home.

If gamification isn't your thing, try focusing on one room in your house at a time, then break down your mess into these specific categories. I personally like to start with trash, and I carry a garbage bag around with me. Then I'll pile all the dishes into one spot before taking them to the sink. Then I'll put all the laundry into a basket before moving it out of the room into the hallway.

From there, everything with a home gets put back into its place, and everything without a home gets put into a separate laundry basket. Don't worry about things without a home until you've completed every room. Those things might pile up as you go to different areas of your house, and it will be easier to brainstorm where they should all go once everything is clean.

After you've organized these five things, you can then sweep, vacuum, mop, dust, and do whatever else you need to do to get the room to the best condition you see fit. If all you wanted to do was pick up and organize, then boom, you're done! Just take it one room at a time.

6. Take breaks

Don't burn yourself out. Take breaks when it feels right to you. I like to take at least 5-10 minutes every hour when dealing with a lot of cleaning. During this time, I might scroll through TikTok, sit outside in the sun, or take some time to hydrate myself.

If I'm pushing 2-4 hours of cleaning with no end in sight, then I'll take a longer break and grab something to eat. Gotta keep that energy up to get through to see the other side, so grab your favorite snack, but keep your mind on the prize.

Whatever you choose to do for a break, make sure you leave time to breathe between your tasks. However, don't give yourself too much time between tasks, or you might move on to the next thing and leave those chores neglected (guilty!).

To whoever has read this far, I hear you, I see you, and you're not alone.

Staying on top of things is hard with executive dysfunction, so I hope these tips and tricks prove helpful in your cleaning journey.

And remember, cleanliness is morally neutral (thank you, KC Davis). You are not a bad person for not keeping up with your house in the same way that people who are able to keep up with their homes aren't superior.

"Clean" looks different to everybody, just make sure you have a space that is functional and comfortable for you. There is no right or wrong way to clean, but take time to take care of yourself and your space because future you will thank you for it.

listhow tohouse
4

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Sid Aaron Hirji10 months ago

    Definitely start of with a few steps at a time then work through it as a whole

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    I love the morally neutral point!! And the idea of gamification for cleaning, that might help me!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.