Lifehack logo

A Perfect Social Distancing Hobby

Seek and You Will Find

By Bryan R..Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1833 8 Reales Piece

The next time Webster's Dictionary updates, I won't be surprised to see "Social Distancing" added to the entries. Since the pandemic struck in March of 2020, seldom does a day go by without hearing the term. The CDC recommended (and still does) people stay at least 6 feet apart, especially in an enclosed area. There's been a real push to encourage people to enjoy the great outdoors where the virus seems to find it more difficult to latch on to a host. So, there's been an uptick in hiking, fishing, and leisurely strolls around the block. One hobby I have enjoyed for nearly forty years is a perfect social distancing activity... metal detecting.

As a child, I dreamed of finding treasure. My neighbor and I pretended pirates buried chests of gold in the alley separating our houses and spent hours with sticks scraping the surface of the dirt and pebbled lane, seeking those elusive riches. Around the age of nine, I discovered "Western and Eastern Treasure" magazine. This monthly periodical wove true tales of people finding rare coins and priceless artifacts with a machine called a metal detector. I definitely wanted one, but the cost prohibited the purchase. Well, until we found a used one at a garage sale.

I learned quickly how to use the little Bounty Hunter and started swinging it around my yard. My siblings and I had lost dozens of coins, mostly pennies all over the lawn. Occasionally, a quarter would pop to the surface, quite likely a lost offering for my Sunday School Offering envelope. Metal detecting hooked me from the start!

After several outings around my house, I started branching out, boldly approaching the neighbors, asking if I might look for coins in their yards. Most said "yes" but warned there was probably nothing to find. I learned early on, that every yard concealed something of value. It's only human nature to lose things...sometimes these items are metal and await a metal detectorist to unearth them.

I remember finding my first silver dime. (Dimes and quarters with a mint date of 1964 or earlier are composed of 90% silver.) Coins composed of clad come out of the ground dull, with no luster. On the other hand, silver coins emerge from the ground with an unmistakable shine. I found that first silver Roosevelt in a neighbor's yard, two doors down. I sprinted home to show my parents what I had unearthed.

In the years since, I have found many silver coins, currency surfacing for the first time in decades. My two favorite silvers from the past are an 1850 Seated Liberty Dime and an 1833 Eight Reales Piece. But silver isn't the only treasure. I've had the opportunity to hunt property where Civil War Troops camped and fought. Because of metal detecting, a handful of bullets from the War Between the States now occupy space among my prized possessions.

But Why Is Metal Detecting a Perfect Social Distancing Hobby?

Since social distancing has become a way of life, metal detecting serves as a wonderful and potentially profitable means of abiding by CDC recommendations. Even though searching with a partner is more fun and can even be turned into a friendly competition, metal detecting is ultimately a hobby for an individual. Once you slip on the headphones and fire up the machine, the world around fades away as you listen for that signal alerting to a good target in the ground.

Metal detectors range in price from under one hundred dollars into the thousands of dollars. Before dropping a ton of cash or going into credit card debt, ask around. Maybe someone you know stores one in a closet, long forgotten. Ask to borrow it. Take time to experiment with the machine and determine whether the hobby is for you. Research brands and watch YouTube videos to decide upon the machine of your choice, then get out there and social distance!

how to

About the Creator

Bryan R..

Husband. Father. Music and Youth Pastor. I enjoy writing as a hobby.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Bryan R..Written by Bryan R..

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.