Lifehack logo

A environment of retirement

Changes of dreams

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A environment  of retirement
Photo by Anukrati Omar on Unsplash

Retirement from my job left me in a position where I had to make changes in my living environment, Before I could organize my apartment, I had to organize my life. I had to decide which side hustles I wanted to pursue. My main source of income would be social security but I figured I could sell items, such as my artwork & photography. I also wanted to work on my writing. I decided to reorganize my apartment in a manner that would make these pursuits more possible. The first thing I did was get rid of anything I was not going to need now.

I emptied the three drawers of my desk. And reduced the number of books in my bookcase. I kept a few happy memories but gave to goodwill any books which I would not need or reread. I got rid of one bookcase and moved some items from the desk to another bookcase. I now had space for the items that I would need to carry out my side hustles. I then organized the newly freed space in my desk. One drawer had my writing materials and my laptop. The second drawer had all my knitting books and patterns. The third drawer had my camera and my photo books.

I did the same thing in my kitchen. I threw out old spices and expired can goods, I was planning to make foods to sell as well. Everything that I had not used lately I gave to Goodwill. Everything that I would need in my retired life I kept and organized more efficiently. The Christmas dishes I put in the hall closet with the Christmas decorations. If it is too difficult to get rid of memories, a storage booth is a good idea. I followed this philosophy - rule- to clear out my clothes as well. For example, I went thru my scarves and gave to Goodwill any that I had not worn or made. This got rid of half my drawer. I did the same with my shoes. I had three pairs of slippers, so I gave two pairs to Goodwill and kept one pair with soles, that could be worn outside. Since I am not working anymore I didn't need my black nonskid shoes.

The linen closet had in it my old paintings. The end goal will be to get them displayed out in the community where they could be seen. and hopefully sold. But for now, they are remaining in the closet, I also moved all my cleaning supplies into this closet. And yes I did move linens into this closet . But again I gave to Goodwill, sheets, pillowcases and blankets which I foresaw I would not need in my retirement.

The bathroom is the one area that I would need more objects for my retirement. I was not allowed to wear jewelry at my job. I also did not wear nail polish, perfumes or makeup. I cleared out all the over four- year -old makeup and contacted a friend to go with me to purchase more. I am planning to play more in my retirement. I would no longer unless I want to attend an exercise class, need to race out of the house in the early morning. No need to go to bed by eight pm. Hopefully, I will have more occasions to wear makeup. And now there is more room for it in my bathroom , once I buy it.

I made room for things I would need for my life now, instead of holding on to my past. Though I have pictures of family members in my photo drawers and on my walls. I also have artwork and furniture from my parent's house. Because I need these memories in my life now. Not living in the past doesn't mean you don't still have good memories that you treasure

house
Like

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.