Lifehack logo

5 Simple Hacks to Transform Your Life

Small changes can make all the difference

By Elena AthonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
8
5 Simple Hacks to Transform Your Life
Photo by Hean Prinsloo on Unsplash

"Take a deep breath, and don't panic. Breath in, breath out. " That's what I kept telling myself every time I went to bed.

I didn't like going to bed feeling that another day had passed before my eyes as the one before. I wanted to feel better and enjoy each day.

However, as soon as I tried to drastically change my routine, I failed again and again. It took time and patience to understand that small things make a huge difference.

These are some tips I've learned that transformed my body and my mind. Taking things slowly and changing few things every day made a huge impact on my life.

Drink a large cup of water in the morning

Drinking a large cup of water first thing in the morning can boost your mood. At night our body gets really dehydrated and needs water to achieve balance.

Water was something I usually neglected during the day. Developing the habit of drinking water first thing in the morning made a difference in how I felt.

Sometimes when we are thirsty, our bodies make us believe that we are hungry. Drinking water can reduce cravings and can make us feel full. Try it, grab a cup of water, you'll thank me later.

Move as much as you can

I used to sit all day, working on the computer. Our body needs exercise, it is designed to move.

However, you don't have to work out if you don't want to. Just don't let yourself sit still for over 20 minutes.

Set a timer and focus on what you have to do. To make it more fun, set your favorite song as the alarm. I suddenly stopped having headaches, my back wasn't in pain, and I could stay focused on what I was doing.

You can dance along to the song if you want to.

Make a to-do list for every day

As simple as it might sound, having a to-do list made a difference in my life. Grab a notebook and take pens with different colors and release your creativity.

Draw, write and color your notes. Make them fun to look at and write down even the simplest tasks like taking out the trash.

Why?

Because you'll tick them off and feel great for accomplishing what you wanted to do. Having structure in your day can help you relieve your stress and feel that your have control over your day.

Grab a paper and try it now.

Sleep at least for eight hours

I always loved to stay late up at night and ended up sleeping about five hours each night. in the mornings, I began to get used to looking at the mirror at my raccoon eyes. I didn't scare myself anymore.

A little concealer did the trick to hide them. However, I couldn't get used to feeling tired all day, having no energy. As soon as I began to sleep for at least eight hours, I felt as if I was reborn.

I started to do the things I wanted in less time, and I was full of energy. Make going to bed early a routine, and you can thank me later.

Don't forget to smile

Wow, you didn't expect that. Smiling and laughing can boost your immune system, decrease your anxiety, and improve your mood. I always smile and try to see the positive side of things, but you know there are certain days that no matter how hard you try, you see the glass half empty.

So I decided to seek intentional things to do that brought a smile on my face, like talking to my friends, watching comedies, and stop taking myself too seriously. As we grow up, we forget to have fun.

So let's play and enjoy every moment. This is what happiness is.

Changing your life doesn't need dramatic changes. The simple, smallest, and easier things are the ones that can make us happier. Don't take for granted your life and don't sentence yourself to misery.

how to
8

About the Creator

Elena Athon

Blogging has allowed me to explore my creativity and voice in ways that I never knew were possible - all while connecting with people who are passionate about the same things as myself. Check out my blog: www.butterfulsoul.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.