Lifehack logo

5 Ideas for an Empty Notebook Part 2

There's an endless list of things to do with an empty notebook. Here I've collected another 5 that I have either tried or have interested me.

By Jessica JonesPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

1. Recipes Book

Because of my gluten intolerance I’m constantly in the kitchen batching up a new recipe so I think it would be a great idea to keep a book of recipes I’ve made and I’ve enjoyed so that I have a book to go to when I’m struggling for ideas but also to share it, pass it over to family or friends, or even my kids when they’re older.

I’d love to one day have my grandkids cooking recipes they got from me and passing this book down generations. My Nan had a recipe book, which even now holding it feels so special, to see her handwriting and to know she’d wanted others to have it, but also it feels ten times better to bake something and know it’s exactly how your nan made it.

2. A Seasonal Journal

I like to keep a small journal that I go back to when the season changes with a leaf from that season or it could be anything and then I add a poem or a quote that I’ve found that I relate or link to the season and how I tend to feel that time of year.

I love the idea of this and I feel it’s such a great way to get in the mood for different seasons, but also it’s something nice and sentimental to keep and look back on.

3. Things to Do by a Certain Age

I recently did a post on 25 things to do before I’m 25, and before typing it I actually wrote it down in an empty notebook and dedicated a page to one of the goals and wrote about how I intend on achieving it, why and going into details of what exactly I intend on achieving. This has given me more of a boost and motivation to do these, because I’ve taken the time to physically write these down and not just think over them.

It doesn't have to be a list by a certain age. It could be more of a bucket list and they don’t have to be major and expensive goals; it could be as simple as finishing a book or doing a hike you’ve always wanted to do.

4. Calligraphy Journal

I can sit for hours on end and watch calligraphy videos on Instagram so I’d love to give it a go myself. You could categorize the type of calligraphy you practice. Not only could this be a great hobby whilst also using an empty notebook, it can also improve your handwriting, which is something I should really improve in all honesty. It doesn't have to be done on a regular basis but it’s something to go back to once in a while and have a go at.

A book that would be great for starting off with this is Ornate Pictorial Calligraphy by E.A Lupfer. It includes instructions and examples to get you started in your own journal.

5. A Collection of Your Favourite Poems

I mentioned in my last list of things to do with empty notebooks that quotes tend to inspire me; poems also have the same effect on me. I feel most inspired when reading poems by Erin Hanson and Rupi Kaur. They both have books, The Poetic Underground by Erin Hanson and Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur.

Keeping a journal of your favourite poems is personal to you so it gives you somewhere to go and something to read after a long or rough day for comfort and serenity. This can also be something sentimental that you can keep and look back on or something you add to on a daily basis.

crafts
1

About the Creator

Jessica Jones

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.